...and now what?

2006-12-11 - 11:45 p.m.

lights, 2006

So, last entry was the words... now for the pictures.

Just for fun, I went back and looked at the entry from last year where I put up pictures of my outdoor lights. I had forgotten that I only wrapped the outer two posts on my front porch last year, which is amusing considering that without even remembering that, this year I decided not to wrap ANY of the vertical posts. Seriously, it's too much work, and it involves a step ladder, and I'm really old now.

So, I went out shopping for decoration type stuff, and I asked my husband in advance exactly how mortified he'd be if I came back with some tacky light-up stuff for the yard, since I was cutting back on lights actually on the house this time. He said not too much, so I bought this

and this

and this

which of course is a bunch of rubber chili peppers, because what says Christmas quite like that? Mostly actually because I knew it would make my husband laugh, which it did.

All together, it looks like this:

Half of the light string went out on the shrub to the left. That's fixed now, but to take a new picture, I'd have to, like, go back outside. The tree on the left, as it turns out, needed way more than 2 100-light strings of green lights. If Target still has green lights by the time I get back there, I'll buy it some more.

Husband accused me of buying more lights to compete with our new neighbors across the street, whose house looks like this:

I'm not competing, but I must admit I was a little motivated by their lights - but only because I enjoy sitting in my living room looking at their lights so much, I thought it would be nice to give them something to look at, too. Our house is kinda pitiful in comparison, but hey - at least it's bright.

And we do have chili peppers.

Interesting too that by this time last year, we'd had a few big snows already - this year we've had a dusting once, and that's been it. I'M NOT COMPLAINING.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11