...and now what?

2004-05-25 - 8:06 p.m.

today's garbage

On one of the boards I read, someone just recently mentioned that he had forgotten to go to a concert. He was working that day in a satellite office of his company, a couple of hours from home, in the same town where the show would be, and had packed a bag and planned to stay over and everything. Got so caught up in work and thinking about that kind of stuff that he left work for the day and drove home as usual. Got almost home and DOH! Too late to turn around and drive back.

I responded that that scenario was a nightmare of mine - that I'd just plain forget to go to a show. Several times I've ended up not being able to go to shows that I'd planned, and once the weather was so bad that I decided on the day not to go to a show that night (not my band of course - please) but I've always been afraid that I'd schedule myself to the point that I'd just forget to go. That's why I keep a calendar with nothing but concert and travel dates on it - so that I don't accidentally double-book myself and get tickets for two shows on the same night, or get a ticket for a show on a day when I'll be hundreds of miles away. I've come close to that several times and actually did it once. I realized it the day after I ordered the ticket for what was the #2 choice, and the venue actually let me cancel the order. They don't use Ticketmobster - can you tell?

Actually my thoughts on Ticketmobster would fill an entire diary. I'll discuss that in my next life. Nobody hold your breath.

Anyway. So I had a ticket to go to a show on Sunday, the 26th of this month. I don't know why it just occurred to me in the middle of the day today, but it did. The thought immediately following was, waaaaaaaaait a minute... today is Tuesday the 25th. So how.......

A little bit of checking and come to find out the Sunday part was right, and the 26th not so much. It was last Sunday. Oops!! Guess I was just looking forward to that one more than anything, huh? Just counting the days! Had a good seat too, dammit. Hope someone moved up and enjoyed it.

Guess I ought to look at that calendar a little more often, hmm?



Just a little note here about the rationalization of anger... for me, Stace, it's not the "girls should be sweet" thing. I've never been that girly or that sweet, and I'm way too self-absorbed for that. Now, if I'm angry with someone about something they did to someone I care about, I have no guilt and no problem being pissed as hell. I'll stand up for my friends any old day.

And therein perhaps lies my problem... when I'm upset with a friend, I go too far to see their side of it, and make their actions okay. After all, their troubles are worse than mine, and they don't even realize what they're doing, so I really have no right to be upset with them. Be nice if it actually made me feel better.



Okay, humorous footnote here about anger, and the right to anger, and righteous anger, and retaliatory anger, and all that kind of thing.

If I get mad at my husband over something he did, and he agrees that he shouldn't have done it and it's something worth getting mad about, he apologizes and all that stuff, and that's it.

If I get mad at him about something and he thinks it's nothing, and I shouldn't be mad, he gets mad BACK at me for "being mad at him for no reason."

Which makes me SO angry; that I'm not allowed to feel anger unless he validates that I have enough reason to be feeling it.

Which boils down to... I'm mad at him for what he did, but I'm even madder at him for... um... being mad at ME for no reason.

Damn logic just gives me a headache sometimes.



(for those who care - he used his table saw in the garage without moving my car out, so my car got all covered in sawdust to the point where I had to clean the windshield before I could see to drive - and I didn't chop one of his toes off in revenge, just asked him from now on to let me know so I could move my car if he didn't feel like it - but apparently I had TONE when I asked)

(don't ask where his car was)

(hint - not in the line of sawdust fire)

(done now)


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11