...and now what?

2005-06-14 - 11:26 p.m.

tag, you're it!

Hm, so if I update you will too, Nance? And quizzes don't count!

Funny, the reasons I don't update much any more are very similar to the reasons you gave... it doesn't seem to be quite as important to me any more. I'm not doing the evangelical "I got a wonderful real life outside of the computer and don't need you pitiful computer-bound slugs anymore" that I've seen too often in people who decide not to write any more. (Not you, Nance. But a lot of people.) Just somehow don't have the urge to write like I once did.

But I'll update now and then. So what would we like - bitchy gossip, plans of crazed adventure, or tales of accidental self-injury?

Let's start with the self-injury. Are other people fascinated by bruises, or is it just me because I have so many over the course of time, and they're so large and varied? After a fall or something, once I know I'm not going to have permanent damage, it's almost entertaining watching my skin turn funny colors. Look, a little purple, oo, blue! Okay yellowy-purple again, then back to normal.

About once a year I fall all the way down. Sometimes on ice, or a wet floor or stairs. Sometimes I just trip over nothing at all, as if it takes about a year for me to forget what happens if I don't actually lift my feet before I try to take a step. A few weeks ago I was in the airport in Charlotte, NC, walking from one concourse to another. I was walking toward one of those moving sidewalk/people-mover thingies, like a flat escalator, and tripped over absolutely nothing. It was such a surprise to me that I didn't have time to try and break my fall - I just went down. What did I hit first? My poor knee, of course. Skinned it (again) against the inside of my jeans. Didn't find out until later that I also hit my shoulder, although by the size (and pretty colors) of the resulting bruise, it must have been pretty hard. The really fun part is that my head hit the bottom of the rubber railing. And bounced. Whee! That was a nice little goose egg for a few minutes there. Kinda scary how fast those things come up. What I find amusing is to speculate.... what if I had fallen about a foot farther along the way? My head would have hit the side wall of the people-mover instead of the rubber rail, and I would have landed on the moving part instead of the solid landing, like I did. Wonder if I would have knocked myself out and had to ride down the length of the people-mover unconscious? That would have been a cute little USA Today story.

I'm fine. And now I should be good for the rest of the year for not falling - which is good considering I'm about to go on a road trip, and I'd rather stay on my feet in a foreign country. This will be my first time out of the country, and I'm so nervous and excited! And to top it off, I'm traveling on my own. I'm meeting friends at every stop, but I'm traveling by myself. I've done enough research that I know where I'm going, and it'll be safe - as safe as I would be on trains and subways in America, anyway. When I originally began planning this trip, I was tentatively going to be traveling with someone, but the more we started talking about it, the more I realized we were SO not going to get along for a whole week. Just incompatible styles of traveling and entertaining ourselves. She was talking about day trips and side trips that I just wasn't interested in, and when I'd try to tell her that, she just wouldn't hear it. Long story short, she announced that she changed her plans. This is not the first time she's changed plans on me - if this is sounding familiar, I've sung her song before. This one is the last verse. I was actually very grateful at that point that she decided not to go. However she doesn't exactly know that I'm going anyway... that's going to be fun when she finds out. Someone remind me why I care? She just doesn't get it though. She keeps asking me if I want to go here or there together, and I keep blowing her off and she doesn't get the hint. What bugs me is she always makes it clear that she's not going if I'm not... and I just don't want that kind of pressure.

Hey, that was bitchy gossip and crazed adventure all at once! Bonus points!

Anyway that sounds all negative and it's really the only negative. I'm so excited! Now we'll see if I can really manage to pack light and only take one small suitcase for a week!


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11