...and now what?

2004-04-13 - 3:28 a.m.

The human head weighs eight pounds

Where does that expression come from - sticks out like a sore thumb? If you had a sore thumb and it stuck out, you'd be banging it on things all the time and screaming in pain.

Or maybe that's just me that walks into walls.

But really. I have a very sore thumb right now, and people probably thought I was angry all day. I walked around with a loosely clenched fist, thumb tucked inside, to protect the thing. It also kept it warm, which made it feel a little better.

It also may have kept people from noticing that the rest of my fingernails are painted - but this one isn't. Odd, I had just taken my fingernail polish off, getting ready to put on a new color, when I had "my accident." I won't give details. But it was a bizarre laundry accident. One of those mondo stupid injuries that you couldn't make up if you tried. I was tossing towels into the dryer and caught that thumbnail just exactly wrong. Next thing I know I was having one of those moments where you are not only in excruciating pain, but it's made just that much worse by the knowledge that you could not be more of a bozo if you tried.

So for the next few minutes until I got up the courage to look at it, the thumb stayed in my mouth where it felt safe. It tasted soapy, which made me wonder. Should my laundry be tasting soapy when it's coming out of the wash and going into the dryer? Shouldn't the soap be all gone? Of course, it could be that it really tasted like Downy. I honestly couldn't tell you the difference in taste between Tide and Downy.

Anyway, it finally quit screaming at me long enough for me to file and buff the split nail down to where I didn't have to wear a bandaid over it to keep from catching it on things. So now it's very short, not quite intact, and purple in places it shouldn't be. But it'll be okay.

I was afraid to paint it along with the rest of them though. The polish probably wouldn't hurt it... but one day I'd want to take it off, and the thought of polish remover on this nail right now.... really no thank you.

But you know what - minor problem in an otherwise awesome weekend that I had no idea was going to extend to midnight tonight. Well, last night. Monday. Whatever. Sometimes it really pays to be a vampire. I just caught an awesome break on some tickets, and had I not been up and reading email, it might not have been available come morning.

I'll try my best to get back to that later and tell you all about it. But no promises. You know how I am.

Right now I'm trying to get this finished and posted so I can get off to bed before my husband wakes up and notices I'm not there and gets annoyed - like he never stays up this late. Whenever I hear a creak from upstairs, I feel like the little kid from Jerry Maguire. I hear my mom coming I gotta go to bed.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11