...and now what?

2004-04-13 - 8:53 p.m.

The good news

Onward to better things.

Okay, so my day Friday - which went pretty well, to say the least!

First thing I had to do Friday morning was call the temp agency I work for. (Because if you forgot - I'm a temp. Sorry. Just had to throw that in!) I got my weekly check in the mail from them on Thursday. Can you believe these people don't do direct deposit? Me either, but they don't. So I got my check. However, when they were sealing the envelopes, someone else's envelope was stuck under the flap of mine, and basically the flap of my envelope got sealed to the back of her envelope, not mine. First thing this means is that my envelope was actually wide open, so thank God the check was actually still in it. But also means that I have someone else's check.

I tried to look up her phone number, but she's apparently unlisted. So first thing Friday morning, I called the agency. I wanted to let them know what happened, so if she called and said she didn't get her check yet, they'd know why; and also I asked what they wanted me to do with the check. Drop it in the mail to her, bring it to the office, whatever.

Well, the woman at the office was just so appreciative that I bothered to call. Wouldn't most people? But she was just all, thank you so much for letting us know! She said they'd cut a new check for the other girl so she'd have her money as soon as possible, and they'd stop payment on the one I got by mistake, and could I drop it in the mail back to them. I said sure. So she said thank you so much, again, and then said, "Have a good day - I hope you win the lottery!"

Wow, nice way to sign off a phone call, but how unusual for someone to just wish you that, right out of the blue? So I figured, well, I haven't played lottery in years, but I better play today!

Next thing that happened also got its start on Thursday night. I was doing some planning for those two trips I mentioned, and was booking plane fare and hotel rooms for the first one. At that point, just for myself, because I'd already asked my short list of people I'd like to go with me who would have any interest in going, and they all said no. Each trip, as planned, involves one day of sight-seeing. Sometimes that can be fun by myself, but that's the kind of thing where I do like the company of a friend. But again, I'm very picky about my traveling companions. MUCH more about that later - that's evolved into a whole nother entry.

One of these trips is close to a national park, so I was thinking of spending a day there. I knew my husband would be kind of interested in that. So I mentioned it to him, and to my surprise he actually considered it, and said he'd see about taking the day off that he'd need. Wow. I put the chances of him actually making the trip at about 30% or so at the time, but still - I'd expected just "no."

Meanwhile I'm thinking about trying to get my sister to come on the other trip with me. She already said no, because she's going to be on vacation the week before and didn't want to take more time off so soon, but I figured I'd call her the next day, ask again, give it my hard sell and see what she said. Did some research into how much air fare would be for her, and come to find out, the best schedule with the best fare would put her on a connecting flight with me each way, so we'd actually be traveling together. Did I say, when it's right, it's just right?

So, flash forward again to Friday. While I was at lunch, I tried calling my sister at home - sometimes she goes home for lunch. She wasn't there, but her husband answered. I told him I just thought she might be home, and I'd call her tonight. Not too long after that, my cell phone rang, and it was my husband. He wanted to know which days the trip would be again, so he could see about asking for time off. Wow! That puts it up to about 40-45%!

So since I was having so much luck with my arm-twisting so far, I tried my sister again right before I went back to work. This time she was there, and I said, "You have to go with me on this trip!!" She asked, "Didn't I already say no to this one?" And I said, "Yes, but I'm back!"

She laughed, and I started twisting. Told her about the day of sight-seeing, followed by three concerts... for each of the first two shows, I had an extra ticket that was really good... and then I told her how much airfare would be and that half our itinerary would actually be together. She laughed and said, "Wow, you've put some thought into this!" Who me? What, like I have an ulterior motive or something? So she checked into vacation days... no snag there... just had to check with her husband and make sure he wouldn't be upset.

When I heard back from her, much to our shock - he said it was okay! I'm just a band influence. I meant to type "bad" - but that typo is not only Freudian, but kinda funny. So it stays.

With that kind of success, I definitely had to stop and play the lottery on my way home. That was my stop at the convenience store, and I played three plays on a $1 game.

You'll never guess.

I won the lottery!

Eleven bucks, that is.

But hey, that's 266% profit. Can't complain about that!

Not a bad day.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11