...and now what?

2004-05-21 - 8:58 p.m.

Knee abuse

You know, I've said for a long time that one day my knees are just going to look at each other and say, Why do we put up with this abuse? And I'll wake up and there will be a note reading "fts, we're outta here" where my knees used to be.

I honestly couldn't blame them. I'm just glad for them sticking around for as long as they have, in their already diminished capacity.

I gave them another reason to hate me today. Walking down the hall, using generally the same muscle groups as always as far as I could tell, and next thing I know just didn't negotiate that next stretch of carpet correctly and BOOM. Damn I hate that. Not just tripped and recovered myself, which happens more than I'd like, but all the way down. Knees first of course and a tiny bit of elbow scuff.

Good things:

No one was actually right there watching.

I was on carpet and wearing jeans, so no clothing damage - which means at least I didn't have to walk around the rest of the day looking like I was trying to start a new grunge movement.

I didn't end up actually bleeding THROUGH the jeans.

Also of course good that I just didn't break a hip or something.

But OW, man. My knees are already so abused that I can't even kneel on a pillow without pain. Imagine how they don't enjoy being thrown to the ground suddenly with great force and the entire weight of my body behind them.

Shoulda heard them. AAAAAAUUUUUUUGGGGGGGHHHHHHH! Not again! Skinned, raw and bleeding, both of us! Wtf is wrong with you? Can't you stay upright? How OLD are you, anyway?

Accompanied by the kind of pain where you have to wait for a minute for the wave to pass and make sure you're not going to be sick.

That passes though. Now they're just sore, stiff, and supremely pissed off.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11