...and now what?

2004-07-21 - 9:34 p.m.

can you guess the adverb of the day?

Saw something strange on TV this week - Moral Court. From looking into it a little, I can't tell whether it's actually still on the air or if what I saw was a re-run that's been playing since 2001.

Kinda interesting. Two people have a dispute over whether something one of them did was right or wrong. Not criminal, just morally right or wrong. They present their case before a "judge" who, going by the minimal amount of research I did, appears to be a radio personality. And really, since it's a moral issue and not a legal issue, who are you going to go ask - a lawyer?

Just kidding. I've actually had positive experiences with almost every lawyer I've known personally. Well... now that I think about it actually, I've had positive experiences with every one I've worked with professionally. The ones with whom I've had any personal interaction... I've run into some kind of reptilian behavior. No offense to reptiles.

But anyway, back to Moral Court. Basically someone says hey, my friend (in the three cases I saw it was friend accusing friend) did this; I think it sucks and was very un-friend-like behavior; hey radio guy wearing a big impressive judge robe and standing behind a judge type podium in a courtroom type room, what do you think? Whoever he thinks is right gets $500 - $2000, depending on how much he thinks the friend's behavior sucked. I don't think the person who was wrong is the one who pays; I think it's just a prize. The people who lost didn't look nearly upset enough to be about to pay out any money. On the show I saw, the plaintiff won one "case," the defendant won one, and in the other, the judgish guy said they both sucked and should get out of his sight. I agreed with him in all three cases which makes me think he did a great job.

Wouldn't it be fun to have that as a backup to your own decision making process? Well, maybe not actually fun in all situations, but possibly useful? Just kind of as a reality check. Kind of an impartial ruling for all those times when you think, am I overreacting and just need to grow some thicker skin, or was what this person did just WRONG? Or when you wonder if something you did was rude or not, even though you think it's what you had to do. I try to go by my conscience, but the sucker tends to be pretty rough on me. I check with the Viking, but he seems to be the opposite and thinks very little I do is wrong. Although when he does think I'm wrong, boy, I hear about it. But he's not really unbiased, so it's hard to go by him. I'll ask my friends or my sister but again - they almost never tell me I'm wrong, and I just wonder if they don't want to hurt my feelings. Friends and family who don't want to hurt your feelings, boy, what a dreadful thing to have to deal with. Whine whine.

I think if I had my own personal moral court judge following me around, I'd be bringing myself up on charges about equally as often as other people. Hey judge, here's what I did - was this justified or was I just a cranky bitch?

How many people other than me would actually like someone to follow them around and call them a cranky bitch from time to time? There must be a message there.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11