...and now what?

2004-07-23 - 1:18 a.m.

how to go off on a tangent

Soooooooo...

Spent the day swimming upstream and being a little yippy dog. If you survived that mixed metaphor, congratulations. On the one hand it's so frustrating when you have to fight people to do their jobs so you can do yours. On the other, that's the way it works in most places, and someone has to play the yippy dog, barking at people's heels. Might as well be me. And it did actually feel pretty good at the end of the day when I'd actually accomplished something. It took a flurry of emails back and forth between me and the other person actually doing the work, all cc'd to our bosses and sometimes their bosses. The cc's were for two reasons - to play the CYA game, and also because for the other person to actually do what I needed, he had to get his boss to okay every step. So he'd cc his boss and wait for approval, and I kept cc'ing my boss so his boss would know he couldn't just do nothing and claim not to know what needed to be done.

If you're confused, imagine how I feel. Especially since 'cc' should not be a verb.

Anyway though, it was nice at the end of the day when my boss came to me and asked if she needed to read that last bunch of emails or if it was all taken care of, and I told her she didn't have to bother, everything was ready to go. If that sounds dismissive, it wasn't at all. Quite the opposite - it was her trusting my word. If I said I needed her to step in, she'd be right there. But since I said it was all resolved, she was just thankful it was just something she didn't need to worry about.

Then I came home and quite unexpectedly got a really strange but nice compliment from my husband. Sometimes he does things for me that I had no idea I even needed until he does them. Then of course sometimes I just want to toss him out the window. But more days than not he's a keeper. Today was definitely one of his better days, and on a day I was feeling particularly fat and ugly, although he didn't know that. Other people have sometimes made me feel good about myself, but no one else has ever been able to actually make me feel pretty for a short while. That and the moving up in the alphabet thing - that's why I married him.

He's good at finding really cool shareware to download too. But he needs to give me back my Hendrix CD already.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11