...and now what?

2004-09-04 - 12:45 a.m.

I don't mean this like it sounds...

Hint: when you start a sentence with, "this isn't going to come out right," it's best to stop the sentence there as well. Especially when you're just NOT good at disguising how you feel.

This came from my ex-boss's boss this morning. Not to me; I was just in listening range as usual. Oh, I didn't mention I have a new boss... technically... my ex-boss, who I will REALLY miss having as a boss, ran out of budget for my contract at the end of last month. Because they wanted to keep me on for another project, the head of another department managed to get funding for me for another month. But they didn't move me - which I'm glad of. So it's weird. But I'm still working for one more month, so that's good. I think.

Anyway. Last time I heard MH say that phrase, it was followed by her essentially telling Betty that she didn't know how to separate her work and home life. And the complaint was phrased in a way that suggested that Betty was causing her home life to suffer because of work decisions. Which of course wasn't the real issue - MH really thought Betty was making a wrong decision at work and was trying to use this to convince her to change her mind, without telling her outright that she thought it was the wrong decision. Hello, "I'm worried that this will upset your husband" is not better and more sensitive than "I don't think you should proceed with this project right now" - however more caring and sensitive you think it is!

This morning she was speaking to someone else, and MH said, after that initial disclaimer, basically said how she could see how it could be a good thing for the company for that person to be shifted out of her job to make room for someone else. However, of course, "I'll kill someone if they do that to you! HaHA!"

The "haHA!" is so a dead giveaway that MH has just said something completely opposite to the truth - in fact, usually, it's a sign that she just tried to cover up the main thing she was trying NOT to say. A couple of months ago, I had to call in sick one day during Betty's week of vacation. I couldn't help it - I was SICK. I knew MH would be a bit freaked out though since I was Betty's backup, even though there was about a 1% chance I'd need to do anything in that capacity. So when I told her I wouldn't be in, I also added how sorry I was that it was at such a bad time, when Betty was out. "Oh, don�t worry about THAT! HaHA!" Uh huh.

So, just FYI, everyone... saying "this isn't going to come out right" doesn't make it sound righter. Just like "don't take this the wrong way" always precedes something that can pretty much only be taken badly. Just like "no offense, but-" means the next part of the statement WILL be offensive. Just say "You're not going to like this, but this is what I think" - because that's what you mean. And if you don�t want to be perceived as saying things you know other people won't like... then... don't say those things... because the disclaimers aren't fooling us.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11