...and now what?

2004-10-08 - 1:37 p.m.

just a dull update

Okay, the semi-interesting things about yesterday...

I had a half day of consulting work. Wow, you say, way to step up and make the best of a week out of work, and pull in a side gig!

Don't be impressed. It fell into my lap two weeks ago and was just a happy coincidence that I scheduled it for a day which happened to fall in the week I was out of work anyway. If only I could get this kind of work at a rate of more than half a day per year, I'd be ecstatic.

But it was fun. Three hours went by like ten minutes and I got so much done and felt so useful. I need to learn something from this experience. I probably won't though.

On the way home, I was driving up the ramp to merge onto the highway, only to notice that the vehicle in the lane next to me already on the highway was having some trouble. It was a cement-mixer truck, and I don't know what had just happened; maybe someone else cut the driver off, or he had tried to change lanes and couldn't and had to come back - but he was making some kind of abrupt evasive or corrective maneuver. Well, abrupt and cement-mixer aren't the best combination. There were puffs of smoke coming from under the wheels, and as soon as I saw that, I did NOT continue up the ramp - I slowed down to let him get ahead of me. Everyone else behind him was doing the same. So while he was trying to correct from whatever happened, the tires on the left side of his truck all LIFTED up off the road. Not by much, but they were not connecting with the ground. Luckily the truck didn't tip too far, and the wheels came back down - which rocked it so that the right side tires almost came up. The thing rocked back and forth a few times while I was just thinking... omg, a cement-mixer truck is about to tip over, RIGHT in front of me. Or if I hadn't been paying attention and had merged on up into the empty lane - on TOP of me. Finally it settled down and went on and I merged in behind it and let it get faaaaaaaaar ahead.

So I get home and there's a note from FedEx on the door, that they tried to deliver an envelope but no one was home bla bla bla, and I could pick it up at the local FedEx office after 4pm that day. Okay. Later on about 3:40 I went online and tracked it, and it had been checked back in at the office at 2:51 pm, so I headed out. Got there about 10 after 4, gave the woman the door tag, and she asked me, "Did you call us first to tell us you were coming to pick it up?" No, I said. "Oh, okay," she said. "For future reference, you may want to call us first, because the driver could still be out." My first thought was, oh really? Well if that's what I should do, your note shouldn't say "the package will be available for pickup after 4pm today," it should say "call us to arrange pickup" like the UPS notes do. But you don't want to piss off people who still have your stuff. So I just said, "Well, I did go online and track it, and it showed that it was back here." She said nothing to me and didn't even look at me. Tell me why I bother following directions and being nice, when people just change the rules on you and give you rude back for your nice? People suck. I should have asked to speak to Tim.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11