...and now what?

2004-10-21 - 10:47 p.m.

go Sox!!

Because what good is a night like that if you can't re-live it over and over...

I sat down in front of the TV last night and watched the end of the Astros-Cards game. Only because it was crowding the start of the Sox-Yankees game (my apologies to White Sox fans, but around here, Sox means Red). My husband was in the other room, not all that interested in the game. He's not much of a sports fan. He would be annoyed at my saying that, and would insist that he likes World Cup Soccer and the Olympics, bla bla bla. So we won't talk about who watched the games this summer and who sat on the couch and slept through them. But I say it anyway - he's not much of a sports fan. That's fine. It's not a mortal failing.

So the game started. I have to tell you, I knew the Sox were going to win game 6. As soon as I heard "Won't Get Fooled Again" being played at Yankee Stadium right at the the start of the game, I knew. It's a very long drawn out story but I have multiple, extremely deep emotional connections to that song. When I heard it - I knew. Then game 7, I hadn't dared to say it out loud, but I knew if we could get a little bit of a lead early - if we could get a run or two early on - we'd win. I knew. I knew.

So when Johnny Damon, first batter up, got on base, I did one of those screams that you start and then immediately suppress. At that, my husband came in from the other room and asked what I was squeaking about, and I said, "We're on base." He sat down and watched some of the game with me. We got a couple of runs. I was scared-nervous-excited. I was excited because I knew. But good God, we're talking about the Red Sox, so I was scared and nervous.

Then it was the 2nd inning. Then we got a hit. Then a walk. Then another walk. That's about when my husband came back in and asked why the guy was walking to first, and I told him about the three strikes, four balls thing. Did I mention he isn't much of a sports fan? You didn't know just how much I meant it, did you? Baseball bores him and he doesn't know the rules. So I answered the "what happens if there already is someone on first" question and explained that the bases were now loaded.

Then Johnny Damon was up again. Grand slam.

You don't get to see those every day. Especially not in game 7 of a championship series. Especially not by the team that's coming back from an 0-3 deficit. Especially not by the RED SOX when they are playing the YANKEES.

My husband so does not get the big deal. Well, he also just doesn't get baseball, as I said. But once he gets over his natural buzzkilling, funsucking instincts, he does sometimes get a kick out of me enjoying it. He has just been shaking his head at me these last couple of evenings, while I screamed and swore at A-Rod, cried the whole time Damon ran the bases, covered my face and watched Pedro's pitching through my fingers, and grabbed my throat and made choking noises at Jeter (which I admit was kinda rude; sorry, Derek).

Lots of drama... but that's the only way it was going to happen. The Sox HAD to go down 0-3 to begin with for this to work. Because coming back from that was "impossible." If that hadn't happened, when they got to game 7, if there had been more of a trade-off winning games, the choke would have been on the other throat. They never would have believed they could do it. Somehow we just can't get over the thought that beating the Yankees in their house, for the league title, was impossible. But this way, by the time we got there, even though it still felt impossible, doing the impossible was, well... kinda possible.

So now that we're in the World Series, and the Sox winning the World Series is impossible, too, we can say, hey, we did impossible all week last week. We can do some more.

I read a column today that included this phrase: It's finally happening. Charlie Brown is kicking the football. That sounds about right.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11