...and now what?

2004-11-13 - 10:40 p.m.

ok go!

That's the name of the band whose songs these are... I've seen them once, early this year, and I love their CD. When I see a new band live for the first time, I try not to buy their CD at the show, because in that immediate post-show excitement, I'd want almost everyone's CD, and I really can't afford them all. Of course, that's what the bands are counting on. Sorry folks.

But if I'm still thinking about the music the next day and I wish I'd bought the CD, then I go do some research and buy it. Thank goodness for CDBaby.com. They're awesome.

Anyway, sitting here tonight listening to OKGo! - excellent live show, and a great CD. Lyrics are just odd enough that I really love them. My preferred method of learning lyrics is to listen to the songs over and over. To put some of them into this entry, I actually looked at a printed version of the words. In print they look so angry! So if you read these and think I'm in a really pissy mood - I'm really not. Just enjoying the music and wanted to share some excerpts. If you could hear how upbeat the music is you'd get it - part of the appeal is the contrast of moods.



"Bye Bye Baby"

So my pets have left me
In search of careers and richer soils
Heading off to pure-bred friends and happy ends and anything to prove I'm disloyal

It's not just that I'm selfish and scared
It's not just that I'm so unprepared
It's just you'd think I'd grow out of this, wouldn't you?






"There's A Fire"

I never say quite what I mean
I never mean quite what I say
How did that get out of me, and what the hell did I mean to say?





"Don't Ask Me"

Quit acting so friendly
Don't nod, don't laugh all nicely
Don't think you'll upend me
Don't sigh, don't sip your iced tea
And don't say, "It's been a while"
And don't flash that stupid smile

Don't ask me
Don't ask me
Don't ask me
Ask me
Ask me how I've been

Don't think I've forgotten
You never liked that necklace
So cordial, so rotten
Kiss, kiss, let's meet for breakfast
And don't show up so on time
And don't act like you're so kind

Don't ask me
Don't ask me
Don't ask me
Ask me
Ask me how I've been

So don't sit there and play just
So frank, so straight, so candid
So thoughtful, so gracious
So sound, so even handed
And don't be so damn benign
And don't waste my fucking time

Don't ask me
Don't ask me
Don't ask me
Ask me
Ask me how I've been


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11