...and now what?

2004-12-05 - 3:53 a.m.

revenge of the 80s

I've just spent way too many hours watching the first couple of DVDs of the Live Aid collection. It's really good. Everyone go get it for someone for the December holiday of your choosing. It still raises money for charity.

But on to the non-charitable portion of this entry.

Boy, there's just not enough time in the day. I now want to get out all my Nik Kershaw CDs and my Queen "box set" and all my other Queen CDs and listen to them. All of them. RIGHT NOW. But there's just not enough time, especially since I'm also really busy listening to Spiraling and Collective Soul. And I still have the rest of the Live Aid DVDs to watch. I didn't even remember that REO Speedwagon performed at Live Aid. Apparently they did. I haven't gotten to that one yet.

Boy, memories. I just typoed that as "Oy, memories," and maybe I should have let that stay. I sure do remember the big hair, the mullets, and the huge, huge oversized shirts. I don't remember all those things as personal experiences, but I do remember them.

Lyrical amusement #1: Remember Spandau Ballet? "True?" Oh sure you do, you remember it from "The Wedding Singer" if nothing else. Robbie and Jooooooooooooooooooooo-lya. Ah ah. See? Sure you do. Anyway. "I bought a ticket to the world/ But now I've come back again/ Why do I find it hard to write the next line?" Um, because the previous two made no freaking sense? You're back from the world? Oookay. It's like Spinal Tap. "We toured the world and elsewhere."

Lyrical amusement #2: Do you know how much time I spent in the 80's defending the imagery of Simon LeBon's lyrics? If you added them up, there are probably entire days of my life I won't get back over the line "shake up the picture the lizard mixture" alone. But on the new Duran Duran CD is this statement: "I been around the world/ I seen a lot of things/ 'd make your chicken curl." Once again - oookay. Are you back from the world yet? Would these things you seen even curl chickety-china, the chinese chicken? These lyrics are from a song off their new CD. I haven't listened to it yet (due to that not enough time in the day thing) but that's what the lyrics printed in the CD booklet say. Even worse, it's from a song called "Bedroom Toys." If you can figure out if it is or isn't really about being scared of vibrat0rs or c0ck rings or some such, you tell me.

I typoed that as "some suck." My subconscious is busy tonight.

Speaking of the new Duran Duran CD. Why is there an individual picture of each one of the guys... with a guitar? Especially since in the old days there were only ever two guitars in the group, and that's counting the bass? And in these pictures they even have the bass guitarist with a six-string? Not to mention the non-guitar-playing singer, the non-guitar-playing keyboardist and the non-guitar-playing drummer?

And why am I 40 years old and still staring with way too much analytical force at pictures of Duran Duran?


On a complete tangent, here's something I just learned today. What does bemused mean? Uh huh. Are you sure? It doesn't mean anything like amused. The verb bemuse means to confuse someone. So if you are bemused, it means someone has confused you.


Went back and replaced some letters with numbers, because I decided I really don't want to turn up in google searches for vibrat0rs and c0ck rings. I'm not sure those people are looking for 80's music trivia.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11