...and now what?

2004-12-05 - 2:13 p.m.

if I'd just known yesterday I could have saved $25

The past few years I haven't had a Christmas tree in the house. Either I'd be gone for much of the time between Thanksgiving and Christmas (which is really your prime tree-enjoying time frame) or it was too much trouble with the cat, or something.

Last week I was going to the post office and I had to walk past a Christmas tree lot. It just smelled so good I decided that since for once I'm home the month of December, except for the few days right around Christmas itself, I'd get a tree.

So yesterday I went out and got a tree. Smaller than I usually get and we had trouble getting the tree stand to hold the thing up reliably. I won't even tell you what we went through to get the darn thing to stand. More humiliation than a tree should have to endure. But it's standing. After all that I figured I'd wait and decorate it and put up my outside lights today.

And now today I find out my inlaws are coming for Christmas. They'll be in the country on the 15th.

Now I don't even want to put up my lights. And I really wish I hadn't bought a tree.

I'm sitting here procrastinating but I guess I will go put up the lights.

But I honestly wish I hadn't bought a tree.

Maybe I'll just leave it naked and when she asks why I didn't decorate it, I'll say, I was afraid you'd steal anything off the tree that I really cared about, and why decorate it only with things I don't care about? So thanks.

As much as she annoys me you have no idea how much she infuriates and tortures my husband. Why do we have to let this woman into our house? The cat doesn't like her either, btw.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11