...and now what?

2005-04-21 - 11:05 p.m.

just another night at the (home) office

Well, I definitely have a real job now, for the first time in a LONG time. I know this one is real because I had plans tonight (which is so unusual - I never have plans unless I'm like, GONE) and I had to back out because I had to work.

Where I was going is a story I'm not going to get into right now, but it wasn't a concert (and it CERTAINLY had nothing to do with my band - I wouldn't have ditched that over an issue this small) but it was a one-night-only event and I had already bought my ticket ($13) so it's not like it's something I can just do tomorrow instead.

However - something we didn't think was due until Monday, my boss decided to see if we could step up to get it completed tomorrow. I really don't think it's going to happen. But I don't want anyone to be able to say it didn't happen because of me.

Luckily that's not as bad as it sounds. The people at this place seem to be pretty good at not spending most of their time looking for someone to blame for whatever isn't going perfectly. But, I have seen how a couple of the women I work with can get when they're "chatting" with one another. Catty is an understatement. If they're going to get catty about me, it's going to have to be "who does she think she's trying to suck up to, working so hard" and not a condescending "she's new, I guess it didn't matter that she didn't want to work late when the rest of us were willing to."

I'm not a whiner. No one asked me to change my plans and spend two hours working from home tonight (and I'm very happy I could do this from home). But aside from the not being blamed thing, I thought about it when I was leaving work... do I go home so I can be near the computer when this is ready to go? Or do I keep my plans and not do this until about midnight tonight, even though it might have been more useful if I had gotten it back to someone several hours earlier? I knew I'd be sitting through my entire event not really enjoying it, feeling slightly guilty and thinking about work. This is further proof that it had NOTHING to do with my band. When I am seeing them, I do not think about work, or remember I have a job, or remember my name. Unless RSP reminds me, which he sometimes kindly does. I'm sorry, I don't mean to brag - gush, yeah, but not brag. Hopefully gushing is a bit less obnoxious. But RSP saying hello to me from the stage, by name, will Never. Get. Old. He doesn't always, but he did this past weekend, at the beginning of the show, with a great big smile.

Where was I? Oh yeah.

So anyway. The one whining about how she had to work alllll day and didn't even eat luuuunch and no one realizes how loooooong this takes... while I'm thinking, gee, guess you should have done a little more work than, oh, say, NONE yesterday then hmmm? But whatever. When my boss logs into the system, in probably an hour or two, before his redeye flight, the one thing he will see for sure is that I was working at 9:30 pm. I don't think he'd be upset if I hadn't done this, but I do think he'll appreciate that I did. Which is cool. But seriously, the real reason I did this is that I felt like it was part of my job... and not unreasonable.

The fact that it might also earn a couple of suck up points is just a bonus.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11