...and now what?

2005-08-11 - 8:35 p.m.

general stupid stuff

wow, talk about euphemisms...

Reuters news story

"paternal discrepancy -- when a child is identified as being biologically fathered by someone other than the man who believes he is the father"

It's not infidelity any more, it's just a bookkeeping error. An inability to get your sperm bank statement completely reconciled. Yeesh.


Near the end of the work day last Thursday, the color printer stopped working because the black toner went empty. My boss asked me if I could change the toner. Sure. So I go to the cabinet and get a black toner cartridge, open the printer, take out the empty toner, open the new one, shake the new cartridge, remove all the packing stuff and put it in. One thing that's cool about that printer is how easy it is to replace toner.

So I'm packing the old used cartridge up in the box so it can be sent back for recycling, and the printer is doing its re-setting thing. Then a light starts flashing so I go look at the display, and it says, "Incorrect cyan cartridge. Please replace with correct cyan cartridge."

And I'm like, Cyan? Why does it think it has the incorrect cyan cartridge? I didn't even touch the cy... wait...

Opened it back up and sure enough, I had taken the half-full cyan cartridge out and replaced it with the brand new black one. They're all the same exact size and shape so it fit perfectly.

But the machine KNEW.

So bla bla bla I fixed it, the end.

But it's creepy when the machines are that smart.


We were sitting down to a staff meeting this morning, and someone mentioned that the clocks on the computers and the phones in the office were all messed up. I don't know how the computer clocks all went kaflooey, since each person can set the time independently and it's not controlled by the network, but they did... and the time on the phones, I don't know what happened there either, but that I can fix. So I said, yeah, I noticed that, and I just fixed the time on the phone system this morning, so that's the correct time. At which point my boss kinda grinned and said, "Does anybody really know what time it is?" And of course I said, "Does anybody really care?" And we laughed.

Man. I love a place where you can make goofy jokes and people actually GET them. That would SO never have happened at the last place I worked. And the meeting lasting only 15 minutes because everybody said everything they needed to say and got all the answers they needed to get so we were done so we just went back to work and didn't stretch the meeting out until eternity? Also never would have happened.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11