...and now what?

2006-02-08 - 12:04 a.m.

more about teeth and a quick line about blood

Okay, so, another tooth rebuilt. Honestly, I'm amazed what they can do with teeth these days. They can rebuild them - they have the technology. Only they're not really better, stronger, or faster than they were before. But they're not covered in $1000 crowns, so that's a wonderful thing. I'm beginning to think my last three dentists were crown-crazy bastards. Okay, well I'm not beginning. Beginning is long gone. I think it.

This was pretty cool though. I called Monday morning to tell them I'd broken another tooth, and they had a cancellation at noon so I grabbed it. (Look at me being happy to see the dentist with less than four hours notice!) The hunk of tooth that had broken off was just huge and I was positive this one would need a crown. But I go in, sit down and tell the dentist what happened. He takes a look and says, "oh, we can fix that."

Me: You can?

Him: Oh, yeah.

Okay, so maybe I do have a little bit of a crush on him. In that "I never ever want to see you if I don't absolutely have to but if I have to see anyone I want it to be you" kind of way. Perhaps not the healthiest relationship but there you go.

So while I'm getting all numb, the assistant noticed something and left the room for a minute, and came back and said something cryptic to the dentist about someone not turning the light on when someone checked in and someone not being able to reschedule. He asked what they were going to do, and there was a minute during which I'm guessing she communicated something to him without saying it where I could hear, and he said okay. I have a feeling that they accidentally double booked the last half of the time slot I had. But I would like to say THANK YOU for making it so cryptic I couldn't tell what was going on. I thought that was very professional. It wasn't my problem and they didn't make it my problem, either by inconveniencing me in any way or bitching in front of me. Where are these people from??? Obviously not from around here.

But back to the astounding tooth technology. Basically they took my tooth remnant, replaced the filling, and then built up the surface so that there's a tooth-like object there. After they had finished putting all the bonding stuff on there, they left the room for a minute, and I couldn't resist feeling around with my tongue to see what they'd done. Where my broken tooth had been, there was this little brick. Totally flat vertical surface, what felt like a very sharp right angle, and totally flat top surface. It was weird. Then the dentist came back with his little sculpting tools and made it tooth-shaped. You wouldn't mistake it for a crown, and there definitely isn't as much solid material as there was last week when it was a real tooth. But it's a pretty good little toothlet and I'm thrilled with it.

Of course it's also not as strong as a crown and one day may actually need a crown put on... but for now it's stronger than my tooth was, and has as good a chance of lasting as long as a tooth would. Probably will last longer than my other real teeth will, at the rate they're going. And much less pain and trouble and oh-my-god cheaper than a crown.


On the way to work today, I passed a store with a sign in the window reading "Plasma Blowout!" Sounded kinda gory to me. Am I the only one who remembers when plasma just referred to blood?


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11