...and now what?

2004-04-01 - 10:30 p.m.

Hurry, the moron train is leaving the station

I've had a busy day on the "suffering fools" front.

I was asked to add in a new component to one of the databases. I did. Someone who should know what she's doing opens the database. She runs a report that uses the new component, and it comes up with "field not found" on the printout where the new information should be. She goes to my boss and tells her I've screwed something up. I don't know why it didn't work, until I ask if it gave her trouble logging in to the new section, and she says oh - when I saw that I hit "cancel."

Um. When you go to open a door and it says, "locked, please use your key" and you walk away instead - why are you then shocked that you can't get to anything inside?

Then I hear from someone who is on a mailing list which also includes me and several other people. All of us got a notice which she did not. I ask if she checked the right email address, if she has spam filters on, yes she did, no she doesn't. She wonders if she should contact the owner of the list - she wants to be sure she doesn't miss any more.

Well, unless you want to just sit there and wish really hard... then yeah... I'd check. But since I'm not in the mood to spoon feed at the moment, you just follow your muse and do whatever you think is best. I'm sure someone with more patience than I will come by before too long and give you directions to Obvious Boulevard.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11