...and now what?

2004-04-06 - 7:49 p.m.

Ode to the Lost Entries

I'm not sure this really counts as an Ode. I don't know the official Ode criteria.

But I do know what comprises a lost entry. I don't mean the ones that, as you are halfway through writing them, get torn away from you by a browser crash or a backspace key that decides you meant BACK and not backSPACE. Those are tragedies, to be sure - any rewrite never shines quite as brilliantly as the original creation. And all our creations here are brilliant, aren't they? Of course they are.

Tragedies of that type, by the way, are the reason I write most of my entries in my email program at first, then copy the text over. These entries begin as emails to no one. Appropriate, don't you think?

But no - I mean the ones we kill deliberately.

The Incomplete: the entries that, when we are halfway through writing them, we decide are going nowhere... or nowhere worthwhile. So they don't make it.

The Unpublished: the entries that, after their completion and upon final pre-post inspection, we decide aren't right after all. Not good enough; not funny enough; just not appropriate. They may even make it into the "your new entry" box, but we never click "done!"

The Rescinded: the entries that are given exposure to the big wide world, but that then are the source of Diarist's Remorse. After they're posted, we start to think: well, then again... perhaps that's a bit too personal. Or angry. Or sad. Or hurtful. We decide that we really didn't mean it. Or that we did mean it, every word, but it's not something we want to share after all. So, down they come. If anyone notices that they're missing, they most likely won't ask why; it's usually pretty clear.

And now you're wondering which of those I just wrote, that you can't see. None of them. Really. Not this time, anyway. Just musing.

Although this was almost one of the Unpublished, because it's really not good. But it's been several days since I updated, and I had to put something here.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11