...and now what?

2004-07-06 - 9:02 p.m.

confessions of a wannabe travel agent with one customer

So..... I'm planning a wild, wild adventure. I guess technically it's no more wild than most of the other things I do, but it's many many many miles further away from home than usual. It's still not 100% planned, and I could go through my "shouldn't do it can't afford it" deal, but if we want to be realistic here... unless someone drops a house on me and steals my ruby slippers, I'm going.

Above analogy aside, I do like to think of myself as a good witch... but perhaps that's my own skewed point of view.

Anyway... do you know how EXPENSIVE the hotel rooms are in Alaska? Whew!

The ones that aren't so bad sound kind of scary. I don't know about you, but when I read a hotel description that includes an invitation "to rediscover your pioneer spirit and recapture the past" - I'm picturing no electricity and no indoor plumbing. And those are two things I really would kinda miss in a hotel. I'm probably exaggerating, though. However, the fact that the detailed room description did say "private bath" was a nice reminder not to take anything for granted when I do make my reservation - a private bath is also an amenity I have come to enjoy! If that is another thing that makes me a spoiled brat, well, not like I'm not used to the title.

Interesting amenities listed for some of them. "Coffee Maker in Room, 24 Hour Front Desk, Handicapped Rooms/Facilities, Fishing, Free Parking, Free Local Telephone Calls..." Wait... fishing? Hopefully this means nearby and not in-room...

Another amenity listed at another hotel: "heated rooms." In Alaska? Nice touch... thanks for thinking of that. Actually in the summer I'd probably be okay without it... but again a bit scary.

Another hotel lists as an amenity: "toilet." Okay, I'm getting really nervous now. Maybe I should double-check with the property if the room description doesn't specifically say "bed."

Another one. "Fish freezer available." Okay, this may possibly be taking the wonders of electricity a bit far.

These hotels, by the way, aren't in the rural areas - they're in the cities. I hesitate to imagine the more out of the way ones.

Okay, I'm more sick of looking for hotels than you are of hearing about it. I'll come back to that. Next topic...


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11