...and now what?

2004-09-20 - 10:28 p.m.

speaking of curses

You know those questionnaires people send out asking you to answer all kinds of questions about yourself, and forward it to everyone in creation so we all learn something about each other? Like croutons or bacon bits, or chocolate or vanilla, or the biggie - favorite color? I always save them because I think I'll have time to fill them out later; then I never do, and a few weeks later I delete them. I've become the one whose name always gets filled in for the question, "who's the least likely to answer this questionnaire?"

Nothing wrong with them. I just never have time.

Then there are the cute ones. Once in a while if a joke is REALLY funny or something is REALLY cute - and it has to be seriously killer cute - then I'll forward those. If they promise all kinds of good luck or true love or something, that makes me roll my eyes a bit but if it's good enough - I will.

And I do cut out all the names and emails of the bazillion people who got it before me.

Then... there are the ones that threaten to kill you.

You know... Sally got this email and deleted it. BAM, all her loved ones were eaten by giant rabid ducks and she was web-footed to death. Bobby got this email and only forwarded it to nine people when it CLEARLY said ten or else. BAM, three days later he stepped out of his house and the planet Jupiter fell on him and killed him instantly (you didn't hear? It was on the news. And yes, it can still be BAM three days later).

Followed by a pretty poem and the promise of good things if you do as they say and EVIL PAINFUL DEATH - implied - for you and yours if you don't.

I will never EVER forward those. On principle. I got one of those this weekend from a friend who prefaced it by saying she was sorry to send it to all of us (me and the nine other dear friends) but she was feeling a bit superstitious lately.

Even if you're just sending it because you mindlessly forward everything - that's still stupid. Even if you think the poem was kinda cute and you disregard the rest. Spare your friends and acquaintances who might be more superstitious than you are, okay?

But if YOU are the one who, admitting you're superstitious, thinks it kinda sorta might be true and have some power, so you're forwarding it so that you won't die?

GEE. Thanks. You have a curse you think is real, and you're forwarding it to ten friends so we can all be cursed too. How can I thank you?

I wish I could think of a funny way to let her know that I received this death threat while I was on the road and had three planes in which to potentially crash the next day. Gee, good thing I'm not superstitious!

If I forward it back to her, does it reboot the curse and then she has to send it out to ten MORE people? Bwahahahaha.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11