...and now what?

2005-07-29 - 1:13 a.m.

random stuff yet again

Firefox forgot me... was I away that long?? I went to start my browser this morning and it's all asking me what I want my home page to be and what I want my profile to be called and everything... huh?? I created a new profile like it was telling me (it wouldn't let me use the default one that was already there) so of course once I did that and opened it up... no bookmarks. None of my settings. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!

Luckily Firefox has some pretty good online FAQs and I was able to find out where my bookmarks are. They're still there, and there's even an automatic backup file. We had a power outage yesterday and I was afraid somehow it blew away my bookmarks. Yes, I'm aware that would make it a really specific power outage, but I don't put it past Bill Gates, do you?

OH. Someone recently said to me and a couple other people that if we hate Bill Gates and Windows, then we *obviously* (beware that word) don't remember or never used computers in the days of DOS.

I remember. I used to work (as in, at a job, for money) on computers, using DOS, writing JCL, etc etc etc. Windows is not the first GUI I saw, and I didn't like the others either. And anyone who's tried to use headers and footers and section pagination in Word hates Bill Gates. Obviously.

I don't like her anyway. Fucking Yankees fan. And THAT'S not even why I don't like her. It just fits that she is.

Hey, y'know what? Sandra Bullock got married. Y'know what? It's true, she did. Y'know what? I saw it on TV last week. Y'know what? I'd pay money (not much - a little) to find out if, at the ceremony, she said, y'know what? I do.

Have you ever noticed that every time Sandra Bullock is in a movie, she says "y'know what?" about eleven dozen times? Y'know what? She does. Seriously. There's no way that's a coincidence. The Net. Miss Congeniality. Speed. Demolition Man. I mean, just all of them. When she was in "A Time To Kill" she even did it in her southern accent. (Yeuw know whut?) Really. Next time you want to get seriously drunk, put on a Sandra Bullock movie and do a shot every time she says y'know what.

So I went to see my band for the 99th time this past Tuesday. Next month I'll hit #100. By the way, next time I decide to try and make a 900-mile round trip in 36 hours, someone tell me HEY! What are you thinking? You're too old for that shit! I did get tired on the way home (planning to drive the 450 miles straight home after the show was not so bright) and stop at a Super 8 for a good 4 hours of sleep. I'm crazy but I'm not stupid. Sleep is overrated; being able to pay attention on the highway is not. So, I made it in 42 hours. You know (y'know what?) you'd think when I decide to rent a car because I think a trip is going to be too much stress on my 10-year-old car, that I'd give a thought or two to my 40-year-old body.

Weird thing? I was wondering on Tuesday as I drove through six states and sat in 100 degree weather, if there will come a time when after the show, I'll think, you know, this was just not worth all it took. It hasn't happened yet. Which is really WEIRD.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11