...and now what?

2005-09-10 - 9:20 p.m.

applause applause

I like this Midge chick. I love her disclaimer. When I get a chance I'll have to link to it permanently on here somewhere. So far I haven't really had any problems with any of this stuff with this diary, but just in case...

==> <==

One thing I loved about this is that not only is the whole thing the perfect disclaimer for an online diary, but part of it is so similar to the sermon I always give to people who follow a musician or a band and get snippy because the band members don't want to be best friends with them. Too often I give a speech very similar to this when people complain about every member of the band not coming out to sign autographs after every single show, or management not giving out backstage passes to every fan club member at every show, or countless other things people feel they're entitled to by being a fan. I feel like I should ask Midge if I can print out this section, replace "writer" with "band member," laminate it and give it out to whiners who feel entitled to have a personal relationship with an artist:

"Never assume a writer owes you any response. They may receive from a few to hundreds of messages per day. Some will gladly write back immediately, others will never reply. Try not to take it personally, because chances are it has more to do with their schedule than anything else. If you get upset and nasty about feeling rejected, you will probably ruin any chances you had of befriending the person.

"Don't delude yourself into thinking that you will be as important to the writer as he/she is to you. Remember, you are peering in on their life, sharing their thoughts, and though they may become quite special to you, you remain a mystery to them. If they are cold or unreceptive to your advances, keep in mind that you are a stranger to them at this point, and they may or may not want to keep it that way. It's entirely their choice.

"Don't be a psycho stalker."

You go, Midge.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11