...and now what?

2006-01-12 - 10:04 p.m.

Ace Frehley and my teeth

Hey, I have to write real headlines at work. For diaryland you get whatever pops into my head.


As I was on my way to the dentist office this afternoon, "Shout It Out Loud" came on the radio. I cranked it up. That's what you do.

So now I'm listening to this.

Hey, musical flashbacks. Sue me.


So I now have a repaired tooth. Before the dentist came in, the assistant looked at it and said the dentist would probably suggest a crown. Luckily he's not as crown-crazy as my previous dentists, and apparently this assistant. My teeth are simple peasants. They have no ambitions toward these crowns of which you speak.

Pretty amazing. It was indeed #5 - the dentist thought it was funny that I figured that out. Here are some things I learned. When I described that tooth before, I said it had a front and back point? Those are cuspids. Hence why this tooth is called a bicuspid. Of course, after I broke one off, I guess I had a monocuspid. So I figured (was hoping) that he'd basically do some work on the filling that was kinda hanging out there getting acquainted with my tongue all week long, and then cover stuff and smooth stuff and I'd end up with that half a tooth thing. But - and this is the amazing part - he actually partially rebuilt the broken-off cuspid. So what I have now is a nice, smooth, non-exposed-filling-ish cuspid-and-a-half tooth. When my tongue goes looking around my mouth, there's definitely something missing, but this is stronger than just leaving that half.

And he said NOTHING about a crown. I do like this guy.

He was telling me and the assistant a funny story from this past weekend. He was out hiking, and he got a call that there was an emergency - one of his patients, a kid, had broken a front tooth. He needed to call the parents back to figure out whether it could wait or what, but he didn't have a pen with him to take down their phone number. So he found a stick and wrote the number in the snow and then called them back. He ended up deciding the kid needed to be seen right away, so he ran back down the mountain and came into the office.

I don't know, I thought it was funny. Then the assistant was telling a story about a trip she took with a friend a few years ago, driving down to Florida, and how they stopped in Georgia and bought some peaches, and one rolled under the seat and they didn't know it, and how bad it smelled by the time they got to Florida and found it.

Which again - I thought was kind of funny. It's certainly nice to have people in a dentist's office who can have a pleasant conversation and still be professional, rather than telling those HILARIOUS stories about how last week they switched two patients who had similar names and how they almost gave one a filling in a healthy tooth HA HA HA!


You know, the thing about albums recorded in the 70s is that they only go for about 30 minutes. Now I'm on this one.

Coming up on tonight's program...

Oh be quiet.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11