...and now what?

2004-02-12 - 2:54 a.m.

Like Pavlov, without the drool

A little while ago I was sitting here minding my own business, doing computer stuff and listening to music. Out of the blue my husband asked me, "Are you going to bed?" It was only 1:30 am, is he crazy? I said, "No, not now." I asked him why he would think that, and he said, "I heard the music."

Months ago, I had a wav file as the shut-down music on my computer, and it's taken from part of one of my favorite songs. I haven't used it as the shut-down sound for a long time, but I guess when I did, it was pretty catchy - I just happened to be listening to that song tonight, and when he heard the music, he automatically expected it to mean I was done for the night.

Which is kind of funny, because the cat is conditioned the same way. To this day, any time she hears that song, she bolts for the stairs, because she thinks I'm going to bed, and she has to beat me upstairs. She really doesn't need to run. It's no contest who's getting up there first, and it sure isn't me.

I think this was one of those stories that was much funnier in the actual occurrence than in the retelling. Oh well - I needed an update.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11