...and now what?

2005-08-02 - 10:25 p.m.

Return Of The CWOMM

This, for those who have not been cataloguing my acronyms as dutifully as they should, stands for Chick Who Owes Me Money. Why is there a return? Because I'm a moron, naturally.

Long story... but hey is that not why you're here? I gave this particular CWOMM her own fake name, I've mentioned her often enough - this is Gretchen I'm talking about. If you'd like the history, this entry is all about her; actually this entry kind of is too, and even references the other one. This is a sign I should get this chick off my mind, huh? Oh by the way, if you read that second one there and notice that it starts off with "I swear. For real this time. This will be the last time there will be a CWOMM," feel free to point at me and laugh if you like. I deserve it.

But, wait for it! There's a reason! I swore that the next time someone asked to borrow money I'd say NO. I also swore that the next time someone asked me to buy them tickets and pay me back later I'd say NO. I haven't given in on those yet. But, did I say I wouldn't VOLUNTEER to buy stuff for people and let them pay me back later? No, I did not! So it's not that I caved and did something I said I wouldn't - it's that I'm just entirely too stupid to live.

Sigh. Okay that one there that talks about the potential trip in June? Well, I went. Now, even though she TOLD me she had decided not to go, and she also TOLD me she had someone else to go with, therefore logically releasing me of psychic responsibility for her, I still knew that once she found out I was going, she'd find a way to be upset with me for going without her after she said she wasn't going and had someone else to go with anyway. I knew somehow there'd be an "if I'd had someone else to go with, I could have gone" in reserve somewhere. Now, if anyone can tell me why I care, I'd love to listen, because that one is beyond me.

By the way, this is how I know I'm right about that (as if any of you doubted me): another couple of people that Gretchen and I know also took a very similar trip. Let's call them Jane and Sally. Gretchen told me she'd asked the two of them to share information about transportation and hotels, and they'd said they would, but that they didn't give her any information until the week before the trip, and by then it was too late to help her, so she was mad at them. Well, I ran into them while I was there, and I was not the one to bring Gretchen up, but her name came up. Turns out I'm not the only one who was getting the "be responsible for me going on this trip" vibe, nor was I the only one who used the "say nothing until it's too late" method of deflecting it. It was at least a bit of a sanity check for me to find out I'm not the only one who felt that way. And I'm not making up the responsibility thing, because Gretchen TOLD me that the reason she gave up on going was that she couldn't figure out the trains, and Jane and Sally were supposed to help her.

Never mind that she gave me a couple other reasons at a couple of different times, for why she didn't go - at that moment, she was telling me that the lack of information from Jane and Sally was the reason. Never mind how ridiculous that is. First of all - not that complicated. Second - they got the information off the same internet Gretchen is on. Never mind that no one fed me information - I looked it up myself and I even went to a travel agent. Of course the travel agent knew fuck all, but that's beside the point. Anyway, it was good to know other people felt the same way, just to show me I wasn't crazy. I also was shocked (and a bit vindicated) to find out Jane did the "don't tell" thing, because Jane is the sweetest, kindest, most polite person I know. She's Canadian, for heaven's sake. If Jane is avoiding you - you need to take a good look in the mirror. Sally, on the other hand, is much more like me - nice when she can be, cranky old bitch when necessary, and no apologies. But honestly, when you invite yourself along with people and they *all* suddenly say, oh, uh, actually, I'm not even sure I'm, well, I might not, um, you know letmegetbacktoyoubye - buy a clue there.

Annnnnnnyway. All that just to kind of explain why I had enough guilt to tell Gretchen and one other girl that I'd be willing to get them a souvenir on this trip if they'd like, and they could pay me back. I know. MO-RON. Guilt is a wonderful thing. If I could, I'd have said I couldn't front the money and I needed it in advance, buuuuuuuuut that would have required I let them know in enough time to send me money. Which leaves that small possibility that Gretchen might have had time to make plans to come along. So this was better. Also I wasn't totally sure how much it would cost anyway or if I'd be able to get it - very specific souvenir here. I did however make sure I set a cost ceiling to which they both agreed.

So I come home, send both girls email that I've got their item, here's how much it cost ($40 each, if you're curious) and I'm sending it. I decided not to hold the item hostage until she paid for it. I did that once before and I STILL HAVE the damn thing (actually, that's an item I didn't even get for her, so I'm not quite THAT stupid - I got an extra pin at a show in case someone wanted one and she said she'd take it, but I guess I should put it on ebay now). Anyway, trust me, in my own twisted mind it would have annoyed me MORE to have the thing hanging around the house than to be out the money, so I mailed a package to each of them. One girl is the "I can't sleep if I owe you money" type and I got her check probably the same day she got the package from me. The other of course is... Gretchen.

Sooo this was end of June. She told me she was going to be on vacation the first week of July and would mail me a check on Monday the 11th. Are you imagining me holding my breath? No? Good for you. I actually saw her on the 8th. Are you imagining that I took a trip about which I did not inform her, for fear of company? Yes? Good for you. So she says, "I didn't know you were coming, If I'd known I would have seen you, I would have brought your money." Are you imagining me believing her? You know the rest. So I of course say, oh no problem, you were going to send it Monday anyway and that's fine. No, really, I said that. So fine fine, bla bla bla.

Funny thing? I was not expecting anything to such an extent that I actually FORGOT. Until suddenly about a week ago I'm like, heeeeeeeeeeeey... I never got my money from her! I can't believe I'm going to have to go through this AGAIN! I almost mailed her on Thursday but then I remembered she had said she was going to be out of town over the weekend so I figured I'd wait so there wouldn't be one more excuse.

So then... quite unexpected... Sunday night I got an email from her saying oh I'm sorry, I forgot all about this. Give me your address again (she did mention that yes, she knew this was about the 5th time she'd asked for my address) and I'll send it out.

So today I get an email saying she mailed the check. Well, I'll believe it when I see it. Then she types the sentence which inspired me to write this big long spewing entry:

"Keep in mind that I need to be reminded several hundred times before I can remember to do anything."

Believe me. I'll certainly try to remember that from now on.


Why did I not buy Coke at the store last night just because my husband said there was plenty of Coke? Why?????????? Apparently so he could call me at 5pm to say, I'm out of Coke, are you going by the store? If you're not don't worry about it. Oh by the way since I ran out of Coke I drank all your Pepsi so you're out too.

Guess I'm going to the store then HUH?


Oh, about the dog and the violin - that picture came from a site that sells violins, and the dog's name is Douglas (well, was - let's not talk about that). I thought about Johnny Depp, I thought about Jim Carrey, but I had to go back to Kirk Douglas...


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11