...and now what?

2004-02-15 - 2:05 a.m.

Taking up space

Not much really going on, so you'll have to settle for updates on previous stuff.

CWOMM - did I ever mention I finally got the first check? $75 instead of the $50 she said she'd be able to do. I'm supposed to be excited about that I guess. Don't get me wrong, I'm glad (and not a little surprised) to get the money, but she never got the part that I was upset about... and never will. Oh well. Next installment promised on March 1st. We'll see. I saw her in the chat room last night and she sent me a pm asking if we were still "okay" as friends. I said yeah sure and left off the "whatever." Just to see if I could possibly explain it to her "in person" so to speak, I reiterated that what I had been upset about was that she just left me hanging and made it necessary for me to be the one to bring it up again. She said she hoped I'd never think she would ever just leave me hanging (um, didn't I just say that she DID?) and started to explain again why she hadn't brought it up when we saw each other a month ago. Completely ignoring, again, the thing about the promise she made to me AFTER that, which she didn't follow through, and why am I explaining this all to you dear readers again? YOU get it. Billy Idol gets it. The COWS can tape something by now.

Rapid fire random movie quotes - that's me.

Anyway, I asked her if I'd still be seeing her at a show we had both been planning to attend in a couple of weeks. She said she had been afraid she wouldn't be able to afford it, but that the friend of hers who had bought the tickets (months ago, and I'm betting with the promise she'd be paid back by the time of the show - although I don't know what makes me guess that) decided to give her ticket to her as a birthday present. Well that's nice. So I said good, and she was so glad we're still "okay." Whatever. I'm going to see her from time to time; no avoiding that. So it's going to be much easier to be civil. I have no need to make this a public dispute. If she chooses to totally ignore the fact that I no longer treat her as anything but a casual acquaintance, or if she's actually able to convince herself that we *are* "okay," then... we all do what we have to do, I guess.

Lesson learned on her. No more money going her way that I ever need back. It now occurs to me to wonder why she never stayed with the same person twice on those annual trips to NYC...

My job, and specifically the PHB (pointy haired boss): first let me just remind you that he's not actually *my* boss. My boss is great, and she has really nice hair, which isn't a bit pointy.

So, PHB had another meeting with the big boys scheduled for this past Friday. I've been working on what he's given me, but basically I'm doing interior finish work while the foundation still hasn't been poured. If you can stand another analogy (I'm still searching for the right one), we're months into filming and the script isn't written yet. So late Thursday, I got an email from him that said basically, "so how are we doing?" Which is probably as specific a question as he could compose. So I reminded him what I was working on, reminded him what I was waiting on from him, and said whenever you want to meet to look things over or to give me more to do, just let me know. No response yet. I don't know how the meeting went. What I have so far went out to two people this past Monday so they could test it, but they haven't touched it. They haven't had time, which I can understand. But that tells me that either this is not nearly so urgent as I've been led to believe (otherwise they'd be told, test this now!) or that it is going to turn out to be urgent, but no one is in charge of the project. I just see something really bad coming. I hope I'm wrong. But usually I'm not.

Oh well. Beginning next Friday, I'm gone for a week on tour (as part of my career as a professional audience member - if only THAT paid money) so if my job lasts at least that long, I won't worry about it until after I get back.


WOW - the Internet has a new mood - "loved" with a smiley. Guess most of the rest of the web had a much more romantic Valentine's Day than I did. More on that later.

Guess tomorrow it'll be smiley tired again.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11