...and now what?

2004-02-15 - 11:49 p.m.

Planning out loud

I just printed out all the driving directions, hotel confirmations, and ticket confirmations for the upcoming marathon road trip, and let me tell you that's one scary stack of paper. It's about a half inch thick, but you have to consider that I am directionally challenged and print out multiple alternate routes and street maps of the surrounding areas just in case I get turned around and have no idea how to get back on the right track from where I am. That usually doesn't happen, but sometimes those maps have come in handy when I had to drive around to find parking and that kind of thing. If I could drive directly from my house to the venue and just step out of my car right at the front door, I'd be all set in most cases. Surprisingly few venues let you do that, though. But with all this, I should do okay.

Still some details to nail down. The first drive is a six hour one, and I can either drive half Thursday night, stay at a hotel and drive the rest Friday morning, or go to bed early Thursday night and drive it all on Friday. I hate driving at night, so I can't really say which would be easier. Guess I'll wait and see what the weather is like Thursday night. I also have dual reservations for a couple of nights because I can't decide where I'm going to stay. One hotel is more convenient and almost twice as much per night as the other. I think I know what I'm going to do in both cases, but for some reason the procrastinator in me won't let me just go ahead and make a decision since I have several days before I have to cancel whichever reservations I'm not going to use.

Got my little green tour bus (a.k.a. my car) all ready to go - I have snow tires just in case (although I will be so happy if they are not needed), new speakers (very important - one of them had been dodgy for about a year and I finally got new ones for my birthday), and this week I'll clean all the glass. I meant to get an oil change this weekend but other matters called, so I'll do that next Monday between legs one and two of the travel extravaganza. I won't tell how many miles I'll be logging, because it will scare my best friend. I'll keep track and tell you after.

Ah yes, that reminds me I have to tell my parents that I'll be gone on Saturday. They call every weekend to say hi how's it going and that kind of thing, and I try to remember to tell them in advance when I'll be gone so my husband doesn't end up having to break the news that I'm miles away on "one of my trips." I should also remind my husband that I'll be gone for 6 out of 9 nights, coming up soon... or 7 out of 10, depending on what I decide about Thursday. I tell him these things, but he forgets. So I end up saying things like, "Remember, I'm not coming home tonight" or "Remember, you have to take me to the airport in the morning." He's remarkably tolerant - or he's just happy to be rid of me for a while, one or the other.

Speaking of my weasel husband, he was home today. He's not really that weaselly, I just call people that when they have paid time off and I have to work. It's actually a good thing my place wasn't closed today, because I need the money. I'll be losing enough being gone all next week. Original point being, he did laundry today (quite un-weaselly), so I can start planning what to pack for the first leg of the trip. Yes, there is pre-packing planning involved. Takes a lot of effort to look as thrown-together as I do.

So, tonight will be accessory night (don't ask), tomorrow night I'll clean out the car and get my road music ready and make sure my laptop is all set (think I'd go on the road without the laptop?), and Wednesday night I'll pack and be ready to go. Because Thursday night I'll either be on the road or I'll go to bed early. Really, I will. Seriously. I won't even watch The Apprentice after Survivor.

I need a tour manager.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11