...and now what?

2004-02-16 - 6:52 p.m.

Four Oh

HA HA HA thump.

The sound of someone laughing their head off.

Mine's just going to be THUMP, and may or may not be preceded by laughter.

I informed my husband that if he hears a loud noise one day and looks over and just sees a pile of arms and legs and other parts where I used to be, he should just sweep it all aside so he doesn't trip over it or something. Because I'm going to fall all to pieces and disassemble into my component parts any day now.

When my dad turned fifty, he suddenly felt very old. He went around complaining about this ache and that pain, and about all the popping and creaking that wasn't there before. And everything was accompanied by, "I guess this is what happens once you turn fifty." I won't say we laughed at him, but we did think it was amusing that all of his woes were caused by turning fifty.

Well, for me it's forty, and I'm getting a little bit of a head start on it. My best friend protests every time I say I'm almost forty, but I'm not doing the "When Harry Met Sally" thing and saying it because it's out there, "someday." I'm thirty-nine and a fraction. That's "almost forty," people. Not like I'm upset about it, either. After all, it's the only way to get to forty-one. But it's funny how strongly she tries to convince me I'm not that close to it, as if forty is something really bad to be. Does she know something I don't? She hasn't been there - she's years younger than I am, and always will be (funny how that works). However, she also won't let me call myself manic depressive without a doctor's note, so maybe it's just the inexactness that's the trouble.

Of course I'm not mad at you. That was supposed to be funny. (She reads this.)

Just saying, I'm falling apart bit by bit. I have pills to take and braces to wear (on joints, not teeth - I still live in the land of dental denial), muscles that ache and joints that creak. I can't get one little health problem resolved lately before three others crop up.

But I'm not complaning - they are little problems, after all. And I have a new kiwi-flavored lip gloss that smells really good and comes in a fluorescent yellow-green tube. No matter what my decrepit body may think, I'm really fourteen.


Okay, the internet is all smiley happy again now. I was close.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11