...and now what?

2004-02-26 - 3:14 a.m.

Home but not for long

My goodness... I can't believe I still have one leg and three shows left to go before I completely return to reality. I drove home today, washed my car, repacked, and I'll get up tomorrow and go again. My husband forgot I wasn't done yet, and when he asked what I was doing upstairs for so long and I said repacking, he said, "Where are you going NOW?" Perhaps we should pay more attention?

This middle leg only had one show, but I had to drive down to Jersey and back. The trip down was funny. Weather was perfect until I crossed over actually into NJ, then it started to snow. It was about 2:00 in the afternoon though and still daylight, so no big deal. I ended up stopping at a rest stop on the parkway, and when I went in everything seemed so familiar. Which is odd. Believe it or not, all the rest stops are not just alike. Turns out this is the same place I stopped at on the way home during that hideous snowy night in January. Just from the other direction, and last time it was something like 1 in the morning. I don't know. It doesn't seem to be translating well, but it was funny at the time. When I came back out to the car, even though the snow had barely started, the front of my poor little car's face was already all slushed over. I washed off the license plate because I'm not sure if the electronic toll thingy needs to read it or not. Plus my car just hates it when the license plate is dirty. It has feelings, you know.

The way I was directed to park my car at this venue was at the edge of the lot, nose pointing toward the highway; in fact, nose only about 10 inches from the highway. What that means is that every salt truck in the state drove by my car during the evening and spewed salt all over the face and hood. (I'm sure that part of the car has another name other than face, but face works for me.) There was so much salt all over the car that when I stopped to get gas this morning before I got on the road, the two gas station attendants were literally pointing and gawking at the whiteness of my little green car. So I promised the poor thing it would get a bath when we got home. Of course I'm taking it back out there tomorrow, but then again I'm taking myself back out there too, and I'm going to shower before I go, too. So there.

Today was perfect driving weather. My car just about knows how to get to Jersey and back now without veering toward NYC. Although I'm still careful because you never know. I've discovered that when driving alone, my navigation kind of sucks. Problem is, having another person act as navigator rarely helps either, because I'm usually the person in the car who is the best at reading maps. So I end up trying to find a tactful way of saying to the person who's trying to help, "JUST GIMME IT AND I'LL READ IT MYSELF!" I get kind of on edge driving with other people sometimes because I get embarrassed by how turned around I get. WrongWay Feldman, at your service. I'm rarely really lost, but going the wrong way happens quite often. I'm getting a lot better at catching it sooner though. When I'm by myself, I barely notice it. Just hmm... I don't think this is right... and I fix it. When there are other people in the car, they tend to ask nitpicky questions like, "Why are we making another U-turn? Weren't we just going this way before we made the last U-turn?" Or they laugh, which quite honestly, is worse. The only correct reaction is to sit there, shut up, and believe that we'll get there when we get there.

Three shows and several hundred more miles to go...


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11