...and now what?

2005-01-04 - 12:04 a.m.

general weirdness

Okay, now that I've gotten that out of my system...

The inlaws are gone, have been gone since Thursday morning, when they left unexpectedly. All we knew was that they'd be leaving by Saturday at the latest... probably. Nothing's ever for sure.

But no, in on Tuesday, out Thursday morning. Here for less than 48 hours. Not that I mind but... strange. I wonder if the mouse has anything to do with it but I don't think so.

However... I was just thinking when we did see the mouse upstairs, that the one thing I KNOW is that we NEVER have food upstairs.

Well. Odd how many things you can count on when it's just the two of you (plus cat) in the house, that go all out the window when you mix in other people.

I went into the guest room Thursday evening after they were gone to check for strange things. Oh believe me. I've found some strange things. Thursday night it looked fairly normal at a glance, although I did notice his mom had left a slip and his dad had left his robe. They're planning to come back though (yay) so I didn't think too much of it. Although it does annoy me a bit that I'm sure he left the robe on purpose like this is their vacation cottage and not our home.

Since nothing seemed really out of place, I forgot about it for the long weekend and loved the fact that we had the house to ourselves for the whole of our time off. Friday, Saturday, Sunday. I slept too much (stayed up until sunrise and slept too much of the daylight away like the vampire I am) but also got a lot done. The tree is down, and I believe this is the earliest I've ever gotten the outside Christmas lights down and put away. In my defense, they're usually covered by ice and I can't get to them. But except for taking the tree stand back down to the basement, Christmas is packed away for another year. New Year's was nice, and quiet - we stayed home, had pizza, and I drank two glasses of champagne to my husband's one. Watched the celebrations in Boston and New York on television at midnight. It was good.

So tonight I needed something out of one of my sewing chests (looking for a particular shade of purple thread) so I went upstairs to the guest room. I go to pull the sewing chest off the shelf and tucked in beside it is... a package of three tomatoes wrapped in one of those little plastic tomato carriages, wrapped in cellophane. I know the wrapper said they were hothouse grown and should never be refrigerated, but this is ridiculous. Soooooooo I start looking around. There's another plastic shopping bag tucked behind another box of mine. In there is: a ziploc bag of pecans. An open bag of beef jerky. Which I can kind of write off as snack food. But in addition... a couple of packages of soup mix. A bag of croutons. A couple cups of instant noodles. WTF? Why does this stuff even make it upstairs? I tried to tell myself she meant to take it with her and just forgot it. But no... if she'd meant to take it with her, it wouldn't have been stuffed behind the box. And again... why is it upstairs? We're out of the house most of the day. Eat out in the open. And if you're trying to eat secretly at night... what are you going to do, go into the bathroom and run the water really hot and try and make soup from that?? I repeat... WTF?

Oh... and also in that bag-o-dried-food... one of my old business cards. Which she got from the bottom of one of the boxes of stuff I store in that room. The nerve of me! Storing stuff in the empty cabinets in the guest room of my own home!

When I mentioned this to my husband (okay, ranted and raved all over him) and happened to include a sarcastic "like we don't have enough mice in the house," he let slip that she had lectured HIM about US leaving food out hence our mouse problem.

Once was enough for that particular explosion. Suffice to say, the occasional leftover pizza, and other than that, NOTHING. And nothing EVER upstairs. From the two of us, that is.

Oh, comic relief, speaking of things the two of us never do... I went to take a shower the morning after they left. You know how you kind of wander into the bathroom half-asleep and reach in and turn on the shower to let the water warm up while you get undressed or whatever? You never look up at the shower head to make sure it isn't pointing OUT OF THE SHOWER AND DIRECTLY INTO YOUR FACE, now do you? No, because you don't leave it like that because you're not FUCKING INSANE and your husband doesn't leave it like that because if he did he'd be long dead, and the cat doesn't because she hasn't figured out how to reach the shower head yet, and besides, water, ick. Let me just say, that's a fast wakeup, but at least better cold than hot. If that happened to me in a hotel, it would be kind of funny. In fact now that I come to think of it, in hotels I always do look first.

This was not funny.

Okay enough. The rest just gets tangled and twisted and angsty. I'm so fucking sick of angst.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11