...and now what?

2005-01-15 - 1:21 a.m.

more whining and bitching

2nd entry for tonight... I'll get some inlaw ranting out of the way and then I'll talk about better stuff.

I just got back last night from an 8-day, four-show jaunt. It was so great. The only bad part is that I had to come home to inlaws in the house. They were gone - now they're back. We think they'll be gone Sunday or so. I'm about at the end of my rope with these people. But I also realize I'm kind of touchy, to say the least.

My husband picked me up from the airport last night. I was supposed to be in at 10:30 pm, but I had a connection in Atlanta, and yesterday was not a good day for Atlanta air traffic. At least I wasn't on the plane that skidded off the runway and got stuck in the mud. All I had to deal with was a 2 hour delay. But that did mean I got home after 1am, and I still had to repaint my fingernails, shower, find my interview suit, press it, get directions to my interview, print off more resumes, and a couple other things, all before leaving for work at 8am. And jammed a few hours sleep in there somewhere so I didn't look like an ad for Night of the Living Dead Job Applicant.

So my husband warns me that there's a machine in the middle of our living room - an ionizer to clean the air. Why? Because they decided we needed one. Well I had the natural reaction. I got pissed. What's wrong with our air? If they don't like our air, they can go breathe someone else's air! Maybe I like ions in my air. It's nice to have ions. Or, lack of ions, or you know, whatever it had or didn't have before they decided to change it. Don't interrupt my rage with facts!!!

On the one hand I have to wonder, am I just an insane control freak to be so pissed off that they bought us a gift? Or is it really the statement I think it is that they have decided, without even so much as informing us beforehand, let alone asking our permission or opinion, to change our environment right down to the very AIR in the house??

Granted, I am an insane control freak. And that's Just The Way I Am. It's my turn for that excuse, and I'm using it for the rest of my life. Deal. But am I right to be bothered, or is this solely a product of my control freakiness?

So they were in bed when I got in last night and I only spoke to his mother for a minute this morning. She asked me, "Did you rest?" and I said, "No, I clung to the ceiling all night and learned to spin webs. I'm studying to be a poisonous spider." Okay, no, I said "yeah a little." But that was it.

Oh, I looked up those ionizing air purifiers to see what it is they actually do. Turns out they release negative ions into the air.

Perfect. Always with the negative waves, Moriarity?

And I walked into the room where our computers are, and my desk was a disaster area. Okay, it's always a disaster area, but usually it's MY PERSONAL disaster area. This was a whole different disaster area than the one I left a week prior. Stuff had been knocked over and put back everywhere. The monitor was turned about 45 degrees toward the wall. The printer was turned crooked. Honest, it's like someone ran into the desk full speed and knocked it silly and then couldn't put it back the way it was. I figured since my husband had been home, maybe he'd know what happened. I mean this was not just an "oops I knocked something over," this was seriously like someone hit the desk with a jeep.

So I went into the other room where he was. This was the conversation.

Me: "What happened to my desk?"
Him: "What happened to your desk?"
Me: "What happened to my desk?"
Him: "What happened to your desk?"
Me: "You're not helping."

I'm losing it.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11