...and now what?

2005-01-15 - 12:47 a.m.

interview news

I was just about to write - really!

So, interview was today. I'm not quite sure how it went. First thing he said after we discussed my resume for a sec was, so what makes you apply for an admin assistant type job? So I'm thinking uh oh, perhaps this is more of an admin asst type job than it looked like to me! Which, nothing wrong with that, but it really isn't the kind of thing I'd leave my current job for.

So I explained to him what attracted me about the job posting that I'd read, bla bla bla. And after that he said that it seemed like I had a really good read on the job. The admin part is kind of the critical part, but not the main part at all. He did much more of the talking, and I felt like I should have chimed in a bit more than I did, but it would have been blatant interrupting if I had. So he may think I was kind of quiet. Don't know whether that will be a good thing or not.

I'm not sure if he did so much talking because he's not an experienced interviewer, or if he had just already had some preconceptions from reading my resume and he's going with those, or what. It didn't feel like one of those cases where they take one look at you and know you're not right so they don't bother going through the motions.

I get the feeling either he liked me and I'm seriously in the running, or he just thought "wicked overqualified" when he saw the resume and still thinks so. He seemed very much like someone who would hire on instinct so we'll see. He asked very few questions, none of the classics (strengths, weaknesses, goals) and didn't ask for references.

Funny though. One thing he said was such a reference to my band - not that he knew it. But it would be like innocently telling a Jimmy Buffett fan that you were looking to hire a parrot. And then he said, "we're not looking for the news from New York or London, we're looking for the news from" and he named a teeny tiny town in Minnesota (8.8 square miles, population 11,000 blonde people) that most people around here probably would never have heard of. And it just happens to be the hometown of RSP's wife.

So were those like a couple of secret signs... or am I really, really reaching? Oh well, either way, as I told someone this past weekend, I believe that things happen for a reason. So I did my best, and if it's meant to be, it'll be, and if not, then not. I already am pleased that I didn't lie about my degree and they still wanted to see me. I have an AAS, not a BS. THERE! I SAID IT! But I'm better and smarter than most people with twice the degrees, and I'm quite modest too, so there. I no longer am in the mood to pad my resume. Love me or leave me.

The mood I am in, however, is fantastic. It would be perfect if I hadn't had to come home to inlaws tonight. I was so tired though I just snuck in and went to bed and slept through the social hours. I know. Wuss. And that's a whole nother entry anyway.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11