...and now what?

2003-11-23 - 6:26 p.m.

Obsession and boredom

I'm listening to Rob Zombie - Never Gonna Stop. I don't understand a word he screams but I do enjoy it. Good head banging stuff.

Kinda a dull day... I hate the feeling of having so much to do that you can't think of anything specific to do, so you sit and play computer games and do stuff like this.

Almost went to Florida this weekend. I really came close. I would have had to go into tons of debt, lose every good will point I have with my husband (in fact, go into debt on that account as well, most likely) and use up every bit of energy I had so I'd be exhausted for Thanksgiving... but I almost did it. I didn't, so look, don't I get some adult responsibility points for once? Everyone calling me obsessed and addicted... well yeah I am, but at least there ARE limits. I didn't go to Chicago in February and I didn't go to Florida this weekend. I did go to Texas in January, South Dakota in March, New Orleans last month and onto the New York City subway system in July... but I didn't wake up in Florida this morning.

From some of the reports I heard back from people who went, maybe it was a good thing. I'm sure I would have had fun... but it sounds like it would have fallen a bit short of being one of my more perfect excursions.

This wasn't even what I was going to write about.

I was GOING to say that I found something on ebay yesterday that I actually want - that hasn't happened in a while. Now and then I see something that looks interesting and I'll bid a couple dollars and if I don't get it - fine. But this I actually want. It's a little rare, and if the photograph hasn't been tampered with, it's very rare. And I don't think the photograph has been altered, because #1 I don't see any clues that it has (and there are always clues), and #2, if a seller were going to mess with a photo in order to make something unusual, wouldn't you think they'd then mention in the description that the item is unusual? They didn't, so I think it is genuine and extremely rare.

We're not talking holy grail or true voices of Milli Vanilli rare here. Rare in a way that would interest only me and maybe four other people in the world (much as if it were the true voices of Milli Vanilli, come to think of it), and rare in a way that would increase the monetary value by oh, about... maybe 85 cents, but still. And even if the extra-rare twist turns out to be, shall we say, an "error" on the part of the seller, I'm still interested in the item. And we're still talking the less than $20 range here.

So I put in a low bid and wouldn't you know, someone else outbid me. Hopefully they were just interested in general and not for the rarity factor and will let it go once I outbid them again. The auction ends on Thanksgiving day, so I'll probably lose track of it - I'm sure not going to sit around all day on Thanksgiving waiting to snipe. See, I'm not obsessed.

On to the Wallflowers - One Headlight. What does "It's cold - it feels like Independence Day" mean? Never figured that one out.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11