...and now what?

2004-01-07 - 8:05 p.m.

Of Mice and... Other Stuff

I have been attempting to channel Bruce Hornsby today. Why? Because he has excellent wrist position. I had a tingly right hand all last evening and I know why - there is a pressure point in my wrist that is still a little sore from being against the "wrist rest" all day. I'm not sure if I was suddenly resting my hand more yesterday, or if my hand is suddenly sensitive. But last night it was tingling so much I just walked away from the computer for the evening without coming close to getting everything done I needed to do. Not worth it.

Today I have much more numbness than I would like in a couple of fingers (I would like none, please, in any - thank you) so I'm being extremely careful not to rest anything against anything. It's not easy. Which is why I'm trying to channel Bruce Hornsby. Talented pianist, and have you ever watched the wrist position on that man? Very elegant, and may I say, very healthy.

Okay, so it doesn't exactly translate, because technically, my wrist position on my keyboarding is fine. It's the mousing that's killing me. But I don't know of any brilliant mouse users with awesome wrist positioning whom I could emulate.

How many other people do you know who would use awesome and whom in the same sentence? Just name me someone. I know a lot of people could. But who would actually do it? Be bold about proper grammar, I say!

Well, I say a lot of things when it suits me to do so. But anyway.

Before I get caught up in other things tonight, I'm going to have to search through my vast wasteland of stuff and see if I can find the wrist support I got many years ago after a medical procedure. I have a box in the guest room that has some other quasi-medical stuff in it, and I think it's in there. If it isn't, I'll just figure my mother-in-law stole it (not as unlikely as it may sound to some of you) and go get another one.

I'm don't know why this is suddenly a problem - I don't think I did anything differently yesterday than I've been doing since the computer mouse first appeared, sometime back in the Cenozoic era. Back when I began fighting, er, working, with Windows 3.11. This is when you all say, Windows What? Windows Which? Does that have anything to do with the band?* Ah, my dears, some day the ancient one (that would be me) will tell you all the tales of the mouseless, monochrome days, when DOS warriors roamed the Earth. Perhaps we will even resurrect the legend of GEOS, a GUI of old, which lived (and died) in the land of Commodore.

A moment please as we pause to celebrate the parenthetical aside. A familiar friend to my writing, and a habit I've newly discovered I share with one of my favorite philosophers. I'm not very surprised; he's always spoken in parenthetical asides, and it was an easy guess that he's much more of a parenthesis aficionado than a comma man. I'm also heartened to see that he has an excellent grasp of punctuation placement as it relates to parentheses; a slippery subject at best, to most. Bet he slings a mean semicolon, too.

I'm easily distracted today, hmm? What was that bit about hats?** Oh well, that's just the way it is, I guess.

Bruce Hornsby segue. Get it?







* To the best of my knowledge, it doesn't.

** People aren't wearing enough.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11