...and now what?

2004-01-10 - 3:34 a.m.

Spam-o-rama

I don't read the spam I get, but I do scan the subjects and the senders. Sometimes I get mail from strangers who got my name from a web site or something, and I've never heard their names before and don't know who they are, but it's legitimate mail that I want. So I try to scan it all so I don't miss anything real. I so hated it when spammers started using the subject "hi." UGH. That fad seems to be passing, thank God.

I've decided most of the subjects fall into certain specific categories. Which are as follows:

    Category 1: Commands I don't wish to follow.

  • "This is hilarious. Open."
  • "Extend your Auto Warranty."
  • "Fire your boss."
  • "Clean your colon."
  • "Stop Typing, Start Talking."
  • "Sit down, relax and trust in us."

    Category 2: Gibberish subjects designed to try and fool spam filters.

  • "mispronunciation frazzle gravy"
  • "ch-eap softwa.re for you mushroom pomatomus"
  • "dollop budweiser"
  • "cretin flipflop flinty"

    Category 3: emails trying to pretend they're about something else

  • "Hi, cell phone doesn't work... again"
  • "re: about the loan"
  • "Your account"
  • "Your card has been approved"
  • "Your card has been rejected"
  • "Nanna, your pants are falling off" (when that becomes true - please don't wait until you get home and email me about it. Point it out at the time. Thank you.)


I loved this one - subject was "I demand an apology!" and the sender was "Analagously Q. Impugned."

And the first 17,204 times I got mail about Paris Hilton, I swear I thought it was a hotel advertisement.

Just thought I'd share.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11