...and now what?

2004-01-10 - 2:50 a.m.

Just catching up

I just got reminded of something I had wanted to write down.

You know that Wham! song, "Last Christmas"? Keep that in mind for a minute.

Last month, I was in New York (the weekend of the Empire State Building misadventure), and it was close to Christmas. I was walking around town, and went into one of the tacky souvenir shops. I love tacky souvenirs. Even though I'd been to NYC before and bought all the tacky souvenirs one person should ever need, I went in, just in case I might need another refrigerator magnet or something. Turns out I did. So I went up to the register to pay, and the music playing in the store at the moment was "Last Christmas." The guy behind the counter was singing along as he rang me up, in the strongest Indian accent you can imagine. "Thees yearrr, to seff me frrrrom fearrrr..." it was just very cute and it made me smile.

That night I went to the coolest show, featuring mostly Christmas-themed songs, although kind of out of their setting. A band called The Youth Ahead played a very power-rock version of... you guessed it... "Last Christmas." What an odd coincidence for a fairly obscure song.

Then when I got into my car at the train station to drive home, I turned on the radio and... the original "Last Christmas."

Just kind of a Wham!-my weekend, I guess.




Just to keep you up to date, I wrote the chick who owes me money. I think I was as sweet as I could be. Just said that I knew she'd been sick, glad she's feeling better, I knew she'd had some extra expenses and been out of work, and kind of mentioned that I knew how much that sucked since I was out of work for a week in December, unpaid. Hint hint. So just wondering since I am planning my budget for the next few months - any idea at all when you're going to be able to pay me?

Last time I tried that little hint on a friend (different friend - don't say it) who was a bit slow paying me back expenses that I paid up front, she jumped right to it. I don't expect that this time, but at least it's clear - isn't it?

She didn't write back. She seldom does. Another person who sits across the kitchen table and ignores me. I'm wishing I had cc'd it to her other email address, but you know - if I don't hear back from her over the weekend, I will send it AGAIN and put the other address on cc. "Didn't hear from you so I wanted to be sure you got this." THAT should be clear should it not?

I'll keep you posted - whether you like it or not. I really want to be able to let this go.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11