...and now what?

2004-01-15 - 10:03 p.m.

Head Games, Snow, and Rock and Roll

First off, in the ongoing saga of Chick Who Owes Me Money, I saw her last night. We were out with a couple other friends, and I couldn't really get a quiet moment to talk to her alone, so I decided not to confront her in front of them. That was not a weenie move, that was saving myself from unpleasantness. I was thinking I'd ask her after we all ordered dinner and drinks (I had Diet Coke - I was driving) and see how she managed to claim she had no money when she was out at a club with dinner in front of her. Well, turns out her ticket was comped, and she didn't order dinner. Just a Coke. So that took all the potential fun out of the situation. I'm completely sure she noticed that I was a bit aloof. Not that I wasn't friendly and chatty, but she asked me for a couple of favors and I nicely said no. Which is unlike me. The no part, not the nicely part. And knowing her, the fact that she didn't ask me why, or say "Is everything okay," tells me she knows everything is not okay, and she knows why. Oh by the way, both of those favors, I didn't do because I had additional reasons. One of them I probably would have gone ahead and done if not for this situation, and the other I most definitely would NOT have.

So to sum up - I emailed her last Friday. No answer so I emailed her again Tuesday. Tuesday she mentions on a board we both read how her internet service was out and she is 800 emails behind. Tuesday night I see her in a chat room and she mentions gratuitously that she is still so behind in emails, and mentions nothing about my emails to her. She asks me to email her the next day about something else. The next day (yesterday) I do. She answers. Hmm. Caught up are we, possibly? Last night I see her in person and she says nothing about it. So this afternoon I got a call from her, and she left a message on my voicemail. Checking to make sure I made it home okay from the show last night (I had a six hour drive home, which turned into 8 because of snow). So she tells me to drop her a line.

Begging for it, isn't she?

So I wrote her, I'm home, bla bla, chat chat, friendly stuff. Oh by the way, did you ever get any of my emails asking you about the money? I just need to know what the plan is. Chat chat, closing, etc.

We'll see. What annoys me is that I'm not even saying pay up now. I'm saying, just TELL ME what is going on. I think she's trying to find the magic words that will make the whole debt just never have existed. If she finds them, I hope I remember them. I want to use them on Citibank.

But on to my adventure last night. I set myself up for bad things to happen on so many levels. I drove six hours to a show, knowing I'd be driving back at night in the snow, expected to be at work at the usual time this morning, and all because I had a wacko feeling that my presence there would matter to one of the performers, who doesn't really know me, if you want to be honest about it. I knew I'd be disappointed if I didn't get to talk to him or if he was blas� about seeing me. Talk about begging for it.

However, apparently God watches over fools and crazy rock chicks. As for the travel, it was exactly as bad as I thought it might be and pretended it wouldn't. But I'm fine driving in snow, and I really didn't have any trouble. But I don't ignore the fact that no matter how careful I am and no matter how good a driver I am, things happen. As my husband puts it, "It's not *your* driving I'm worried about. It's all the *other* morons out there."

It's kinda cute when he says it.

As for the rock star love (whether he thinks so or not, he is - my first one-way bonding experience with him was when he was on a stage in front of me and 19,899 other people), incredibly, he cared. He greeted me like I was a long lost friend. Or like I was a fan who cared enough to drive six hours each way on a snowy night to come see him in a club. Either way - definitely happy to see me. He's a great guy.

So yeah - probably not the smartest thing I ever did. But come on - good music, emotional validation and I made it home alive with just a mild case of snowblindness. What more can you really ask from a Wednesday night?


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11