...and now what?

2004-02-01 - 2:42 a.m.

So there

I'm better now.

Ok update in reverse order because I know you're all dying to know...

CWOMM3 - I'm over my resentment there. After a few deep breaths and a maple walnut muffin, I realized she told me from the start she couldn't pay me right away. Before I offered her the ticket. So if I didn't remember for a second that she'd already said she didn't have the money right now, kind of not her fault at all. Also, we've done this kind of thing before and while once I had to gently remind her, she'd do the reverse for me if she could. So no hard feelings and I'm glad I didn't go off on her. She most likely will pay me exactly when she said she would. So she's off the list of Reasons To Recurrently Bitch.

CWOMM2 - what a shock, she reads her email. (Often claims not to read it more than twice a week.) And how coincidental that she tells me she found the check in its envelope in her bag - she forgot to mail it. However she did put it in the mail today. How fortuitous.

And yet I repeat myself from my last entry - only in lower case this time - if you were under the impression you mailed this check way back on the 12th, and you were expecting that the person to whom you mailed it was going to immediately mail the item you had just bought right back to you... after nearly three weeks, would you not send an email to inquire about the receipt or non-receipt of your check, and the whereabouts of your newly paid for property?

Beware of me when I get all nice and lower case. Much more dangerous than upper case and swearing.

If I find out she was telling the truth, I'll apologize. I'll also eat a bug of her choice. Not that I'll be looking at the postmark when the check actually gets here, and not that I'll look to see if she remembered to backdate the check...

CWOMM the original - no news of course. I'm just waiting to hear that a platypus ate her modem cable... or something.

And Stace, yes! We and all those like us shall rise up and refuse to be walked on! Well, walked on by the same person twice anyway... the rest, I'm working on. Too wimpy to make promises. I also refuse to let these people make me lose faith in the human race. I still have to go with innocent until proven guilty. I totally believe in the idea that in order to open yourself up to feeling truly good, you also open yourself up to being truly hurt. So when you're hurt, you pick yourself up and start over... but with a bit of a wary eye toward the person who hurt you. And certainly with a calculation of the likelihood that that person might hurt you again.

I really don't want to count the number of people with whom I have friendships with strings attached. I like this person, but I'll never lend her money again. I like that person, but I'll never again tell her a secret. I like this person, but I'll never travel with her again because she drives me crazy. I like that person, but I won't ever again expect her to go out of her way for me.

I just noticed all the "agains..." signifying that each of these people has burned me once already. Does that happen to everyone, or do I have some really bad karma going on or something?

Of course there are people I just don't like anymore after they pull their stunts. I'm not THAT stupid.


On a lighter note... today I was in the supermarket. The pervasiveness of the low-carb thing is really getting on my nerves. I saw a bottle of water that proclaimed on its label, "Zero calories! Zero fat! Zero carbs!" GASP! NO KIDDING? Gotta get me some of that! Even the supermarket music was interrupted with an ad saying, "Trying to cut down on your carb intake?" Seeing as how I was putting two bags of potato chips into my cart at the time, I replied, "No, not really, and to tell you the truth I'm sick of hearing about it." No one was in the aisle with me, but by now I think the people at my supermarket probably see me and say, "Oh geez, there's the crazy lady who sings and talks to herself all the way through the store."

I don't sing very loudly. They shouldn't play music if they don't want people to sing.

I really love that car commercial that's on TV now, where the guy is singing along, and then at the end they show that he's actually reciting his grocery list. So now if people catch me singing in the aisles, they can pretend I'm trying not to forget the paper plates. If it makes them feel better. Because I don't stop singing in my car, in the supermarket, or wherever, just because people might think I'm crazy. They're going to find that out some other way soon enough, and it's not worth not singing over.

Few things are worth not singing over. Several jobs ago, I worked at a place where I had a team of people working for me. Mostly college students; a few high school students; one or two above that age. They did data entry all day long. Pretty tedious as far as the actual work went. So they had a radio hooked up, and the volume wasn't loud, and I made sure all the other departments knew that if it were ever bothering them, they should let me know. Sometimes some of my crew would sing along. Kind of like I do in the supermarket; not loudly, and more to themselves than for any other reason. I loved that. If you're happy enough to sing, you shouldn't stop unless there's a damn good reason.

And don't let the turkeys get you down.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11