...and now what?

2004-02-19 - 2:56 a.m.

Bad aftertaste

You know that Pepsi commercial where the girl says she's "one of the kids who got prosecuted for downloading music from the Internet for free"? And she's going to keep doing it because of the Pepsi promotional thing?

Well - I got two of the caps with codes on them. So tonight I went to check out what was there to download. There's tons of stuff. I did a few searches and thought okay, there are a few things I'd like to download.

So I go through the Pepsi link, and it asks for the code, which I typed in.

Then... it wants you to create a login, so okay. It wants my name. My address. My birthdate. And... a credit card number. I thought, what? Thought this was supposed to be free?? But they require a credit card number on file to create an account, and they require an account to download the free giveaway stuff too.

I even closed out and went back in again, to be 100% sure I went in through the promotional link. There it was again... enter your credit card number.

Ya know what? I don't think so. Thing is, once I had downloaded the free stuff, in the process of searching I probably would have found other songs I wanted, and I would have paid for some sooner or later, if not tonight. But this annoyed me. Wasn't the purpose of this promotion supposedly to give people a look at the service BEFORE having to buy anything? And how are all those "kids" in the commercial supposed to be using this service?

Well, I took a look. Thanks anyway, itunes, that sucked. Ye shall not have my credit card number.

A little self-righteousness every now and then is good for you, I think.

I still like Pepsi though. Diet Pepsi, actually, thanks.

I'm so excited - I'm all packed and ready, and the tour starts tomorrow! I guess that makes this Tour Eve!!! :)


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11