...and now what?

2005-01-29 - 2:16 a.m.

thanks mom

Okay, one more entry before bed...

You know what bugs me? People who type out waaaaaaaahhhhhh in messages on boards and email lists. Not in their diary/blog, for which I give everyone a pass. Type whatever you want there, for you are expressing yourself and asking nothing from me. But people who go on boards or send email to lists, like, "Waaaaaaaaahhh!!!! That link didn't work for me!" or "Waaaaaaaaaahhhhhh! I can't get that file to download!" or "Waaaaaaaaahhhhhh! I keep getting an error message!" And if it's followed by "HEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP!" it bugs even more.

The same thing without the freakin hysterics would get a much better response from me. I'm known for being quite friendly and helpful on lists and boards, believe it or not. I also know a thing or two about computers and websites, and often my suggestions actually work.

But start with "waaaaaaaaaahhhh" and I'm sorry - I can't hear you. I don't reward bad behavior. Am I the only one whose mother ever answered a shrieking demand like that with a calm, "When you can stop whining, ask me again"? Once I was old enough to be able to speak words, of course. When all I could say was "waaaaaaaaaaahhhh" my mother fed me and all that stuff.

But these people are adults, or at least adult age. What is that supposed to be? Cute?


It's been so cold this week. (Waaaaaaaahhhhhhh! See?) When I was driving at lunch today, whenever I made a turn, I could hear a noise like grinding or scraping. It didn't quite sound like metal though, so I wondered if I had frozen slush next to my tires. I usually remember to kick that stuff out of the wheel wells, but I hadn't in the last couple of days. So when I parked back at work after lunch, I walked around the car and looked. The rear tires were clear, but sure enough there was sludge between the driver's side front tire and the body of the car. Usually one kick makes it all sploosh out. Nope. Couple more little kicks - almost nothing. I had to get the ice scraper out and chip the tire clear. No wonder I was hearing noises! That can't be healthy for tires. It was almost as bad on the other side.

So, bla bla, work, come back out at the end of the day. Walking up to my car I see a couple icicles hanging down from under the rear fender on the passenger side, so I decide my car would be happier without them. So I go over and tap them with my foot to knock them off. Well the icicles fell and then rumble... rattle... BLAM. This huge filthy iceberg dislodges itself and falls out from under the back of the car. Size of a football, this thing was. I was like, wow, just how hollow is this car, anyway? It was like this was filling up the whole back corner of the bumper. So I figured maybe I should check out the other side. Walked over there, glanced under and I could see a little ice showing, so I gave it a kick, and BLAM... another big iceberg a foot across. I said to the car, wow, got anything else you want to tell me?

By the way, this sounds like I regularly kick the hell out of my car. I don't. I only kick the ice. I have really good aim. And after all this crap fell out, I could just hear the car go ahhhhhhhhhh... thank you. (Which is nothing like waaaaaaaaahhhh.) And to tell you the truth, if someone could give my sinuses one good kick, and it would clear me out to that extent and cause no actual damage, then all I'd have to say about it is oh, baby.

But probably good that no one's offering to kick me. I don't trust anyone else's aim to be that good.


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11