...and now what?

2005-01-29 - 12:16 a.m.

it's all a Jedi mind trick

This is a good article.

The question "Can aggressive music led people to kill others?" of course, inspired by the killing of Dimebag Darrell and some of the moronic press that followed. Okay, so the question may seem like a softball to lob at a bunch of musicians, mostly hard rock ones, but not all of them agreed. I was surprised at a couple of answers. Someone quoted Frank Zappa, and I think this rocks:

"There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we'd all love one another." - Frank Zappa

This one, from Erik Turner of Warrant, I loved. I always have to go remind myself which one he is. I always get him confused with Jerry Dixon for no good reason. But no matter, great answer:

"There is a connection between crazy mutha fuckers and guns. Music has nothing to do with it. This is a very sad, sad story with no happy ending."

I liked this one from John Bush, too. This is the logic I use on people, although I usually use post offices, elementary schools and fast food restaurants as my examples.

"There was an incident in America not too long ago, during a basketball game. There was a big fight. So then I would say that basketball would make people wanna go fight."

Reminds me also of the first time I was ever flamed for a response I wrote on a bulletin board, way back in nineteen-eighty-something or other. Probably 86 or 87. Someone was complaining about the Raspberries song "Go All The Way" and how it would influence young guys to pressure their young girlfriends to, well, you know. The fact that someone in the mid-late eighties was finding it worth their time to argue over a Raspberries song and its evil influence should have given me a clue. But I was new to this stuff. It wasn't even the World Wide Web yet, it was a Prodigy board.

Anyway. I posted something to the effect that if all it took to convince a girl to have S-E-X was this song, that they were pretty close to making that decision themselves already. Then I also had the nerve to point out that, by the way, in the song, it's the girl who is actually trying to convince the boy. Which, omg, let's not even think about THAT horrible possibility: girls being THAT forward! What is this world coming to!

Oh, oh, I just remembered, plus the fact that the person who posted supported their position by quoting this lyric from the song: "You're alone and screwing me."

Which first of all... is that physically possible?

And second of all... that is one of the most hysterical misheard lines I've ever heard. So I also pointed out that the line I believed the person was referencing was the one that actually goes, "Before your love I was cruel and mean." Which is possibly disturbing in a whole other way, but doesn't commit the sin of, um, endorsing whatever the other line was supposed to be endorsing. Probably the sin of using the word "screw."

So I got called a devil-worshipping, degenerate, immoral, corruption-loving, underage-sex-encouraging, evil slut raspberry whore.

Okay, so it was the first time, but not the last. Although usually these days when I'm insulted, raspberries aren't involved.

So I think my answer to the question in that article would be, "If you think so, for goodness' sake, keep your kids away from your old Raspberries LPs."


my mood - The current mood of andnowwhat at www.imood.com

the mood of the whole world wide bleepin' web - The current mood of the Internet at www.imood.com

previous - next

Recent ramblings:
I weep for the lack of math skillzz - 2007-01-02
That's it, 2006... - 2007-01-01
dishes and drugs - 2006-12-16
lights, 2006 - 2006-12-11
I always intend to update more frequently... but then... - 2006-12-11